Bertram Hilgen: The Kassel business region – well equipped for the future

With a population of 193,000 and the venue of the “documenta” arts exhibition, Kassel is Hessen’s third-largest city and the main commercial, cultural and social centre of the Northern Hessen region. The excellent range of cultural and leisure activities and the high quality of life delights locals and guests alike. The city is like an attractive landscape with many parks and green areas, and Europe’s largest hill park with Wilhelmshöhe Castle, the Löwenburg and the Herkules, soon to be included in the UNESCO World Her­­itage List, enjoys worldwide renown.

Kassel especially attracts international attention as the venue of the “documenta”, the world’s largest contemporary art exhibition. Surrounded by the independent cities and towns of Baunatal, Vellmar, Kaufungen and others, Kassel represents a compact economic region of some 350,000 people. The entire catchment area of the Kassel regional centre has a population of one million people. Kassel is closely linked to its immediate surroundings not only economically but also via public transport, with the Regio­tram offering an excellent commuter service when compared with the rest of Germany.

 

D0077-0038

German reunification in 1990 brought the Kas­­sel economic region back its spe­­cial central position in Germany and Europe. This provided new opportunities for de­­vel­­opment in a region which had once seen an above-average level of un­­employ­­ment. But both the location and the infrastruc­­ture must be right so that the location advantages can be reflected sin economic dynamism. Here, too, Kas­sel traditionally had ideal conditions. Even in the early years of the Deutsche Bahn, centrally lo­­cat­­ed Kassel was a major rail hub. The construc­­tion of the new ICE line from Hanover to Würzburg in the 1980s and the opening of the Kassel-Wilhelms­hö­­he express rail­­way station in 1990 did the rest. These investments not only transformed the originally placid suburb of Wilhelmshöhe into a prospering service centre, they also changed the entire region.

Kassel makes good use of its location advantages with its road links as well; the main urban centres in the north, west and south of the state can be reached quickly via the existing motorways A7, A44 and A49. And even the long-interrupted link to eastern Germany has been restored by the now almost continually accessible A38 motorway to Halle and Leipzig. The closing of the “gap” in the A44 to Eisenach will shorten driving time to eastern Germany even more.
The most important infrastructure pro­ject at the moment is probably the con­­struction of the new Kassel-Cal­­den airport for some 150 million euros. Economic benefits are expected not only from the airport’s operations but also from companies locating to the adjoining industrial park, which is to be built right next-door to Eurocopter, ZF Luft­fahrt­technik and a few other companies already based at the airport.

Innenstadt-CityPoint-Innen

The strengths of the Kas­sel economic region have since become well-known, especially in the logistics sector. Part of this foundation was laid by the decision of the Volks­­wagen Group to combine its logistics activities in the spare parts business in the Kassel region. Today the Volkswagen manufacturing components centre has over 500,000 square metres of warehouse space and some 2,500 employees in halls OTC 1 to 5. It is al­­ready Europe’s largest logistics centre; OTC 6 is already being planned. The intercity freight transport centre, which was planned simultaneously, in the Kassel-Lohfelden-Ful­­dabrück triangle has also become a success story and most of the sections on the 60 hectare or so block of land have already been sold. The industrial park Kassel, which is the biggest contiguous industrial park between Ha­no­­ver and Frankfurt, has already benefited. With its warehouse right on the junction of the A7, A44 and A49 motorways, it can definitely be called one of the most commercially significant locations in Germany. Today some 400 companies with over 9,000 employees are already based here.

The Kas­­sel business region has essentially remained a location with the latest manufacturing facilities. The VW plant in Bau­­natal, northern Hessen’s biggest employer, has blossomed into the pearl of the Volks­wa­gen Group. In Kassel, Bombardier makes high-quality railway locomotives for the internation­al market, and the truck axles for technology leader Mer­­cedes and the motor vehicle and trans­­port technology products from Hübner are made here as well. Wintershall AG, Germany’s biggest natural oil and natural gas producer is also based in Kas­­sel, as are the head offices of K+S Ak­­tien­­gesellschaft, which is now listed in Germany’s share market, the DAX.

And now a second industrial mainstay is to reinforce the Kassel region over the long term. North Hessen is to become a model region for state-of-the-art energy and efficiency technologies.

A study presented in December 2007 esti­­mated that some 20,000 highly skilled jobs could be created by 2020. This sec­­tor of the economy could play as important a role as the motor vehicle manufacturing industry does today. The De­­zentrale Energie­ver­­sor­­gungs­technol­o­gien e.V. (Decentralised Energy Supply Tech­­nologies Society) com­­pe­tence network already combines al­­most 100 companies, service providers and re­­search centres, including the Fraunhofer Institute for building Physics at the Zentrum für Um­­welt­be­­wusstes Bauen (centre for environ­mentally conscious construction) at the University of Kassel and the inter­­na­tion­­ally famous Fraun­hofer Institute for Wind Energy and Energy Sys­tem Technology, or IWES. Today no less an organization than the dynamically growing company SMA Solar Technology AG, which has just built the biggest inverter factory in the world for 40 million euros, is proof that the Kassel economic region is a world leader in the energy technologies of the future

pic_Karlsaue

Important stimuli for regional development in particular come from University of Kassel, which is now considered to be one of Germany’s most entrepreneurial universities. The number of first-year students is continuing to increase and there were almost 5,000 by the beginning of the 2009/2010 winter semester. Over the past few years, the correspond­­ing course has already been set with invest­­ments in nanostructure re­­search or projects promoting techno­l­ogy trans­­fer. The newly-formed Anwendungs­zentrum für Metallformgebung Metakus (Centre for Applied Metal-Forming Technologies Metakus), which has already distinguished itself through its practical link with the commercial world, is also considered to be exemplary. Concrete investment plans for a science park are currently being prepared as a response to the challenges of demographic change. Situated directly in the university environment, it will offer optimal conditions for university and business in order to carry out projects and transform the knowledge that orig­­inated at the university directly into jobs.

These examples show that the Kassel economic region is already well-equipped for the future with the investments which have been made to date. Over the last few years a remarkable economic up­­turn can be seen, which has had very positive ef­­fects on the employment market and has reduced unemployment on an above-aver­­age scale compared to Ger­many as a whole. The region can continue to build on its strengths as a place to do business, the potential of its cultural treasures and the incentives emanating from its university.

DSC_6906_breiterThe author studied law and political sci­­ences in Mar­burg. In 1980 he became spokesman of the former Lord Mayor Hans Eichel. In 1986 he became manager of the city’s legal department and in 1996, district president. From 1999 to 2005 he managed the municipal data centre in Kassel and was general man­­ager of the IT company ekom21. He has been Lord Mayor of the documenta city Kassel since 2005.

Bertram Hilgen: Wirtschaftsregion Kassel – gut gerüstet für die Zukunft

Die documenta-Stadt Kassel ist mit 193.000 Einwohnern Hessens drittgröß­te Stadt und das wirtschaftliche, kulturelle und soziale Oberzentrum der Re­­gion Nordhessen. Das hervorragende Kultur- und Freizeitangebot sowie die hohe Lebensqualität begeistern Ein­hei­­mische und Gäste gleichermaßen. Die Stadt ist landschaftlich herrlich eingebet­­tet und reich an Parks und Grün­­an­­la­gen; Europas größter Bergpark mit Schloss Wilhelms­höhe, der Löwenburg und dem Herkules, dessen Aufnahme in die Welt­­erbeliste der UNESCO derzeit vorbereitet wird, genießt weltweites Re­­nommee.

Internationales Interes­se findet Kassel vor allem auch als Veran­stal­­tungsort der weltgrößten Aus­stel­lung zeitgenössischer Kunst, der documenta. Mit den Kassel direkt umgeben­den selbstständigen Städ­ten und Ge­­mein­­den Baunatal, Vellmar, Kaufungen und weiteren wird ein engerer Wirtschafts­raum von etwa 350.000 Ein­wohnern repräsentiert. Das gesamte Einzugs­ge­­biet des Oberzentrums Kas­sel um­­fasst etwa eine Million Men­schen. Kassel ist mit seinem Umland nicht nur wirtschaft­lich, sondern auch verkehrs­technisch eng verknüpft und verfügt mit der Regio­tram über ein im bundesweiten Ver­gleich her­aus­­ragendes ÖPNV-Angebot.

D0077-0038

Die deutsche Wiedervereinigung vor 20 Jahren brachte der Wirtschaftsregion Kas­­sel ihre besondere Mittelpunkt-Lage in Deutschland und Europa zurück. Mit ihr eröffneten sich der einst von überdurch­­schnittlicher Arbeitslosigkeit ge­­präg­ten Region neue Ent­wick­lungs­mög­­lich­­keiten. Doch nicht nur die Lage, auch die Infra­strukturen müssen stimmen, damit sich die Standortvorteile in wirtschaftlicher Dynamik nieder­­schla­­gen kön­­nen. Und auch hier hatte Kas­sel schon aus alter Tradition gute Vor­­aus­­setzungen. Schon in den Auf­bau­­jah­­ren der Bahn war die zentral gelege­ne Stadt ein wichtiges Drehkreuz im Schie­­­­nen­verkehr. Der Bau der ICE-Neu­­bau­­stre­­cke Hannover–Würzburg in den 1980er Jahren sowie die Eröffnung des Fern­bahnhofs Kassel-Wilhelms­hö­­he im Jahr 1990 taten dabei ihr Übriges. Die­­­se Investitionen verwandelten nicht nur den ursprünglich eher beschaulichen Stadtteil Wilhelmshöhe in ein prosperierendes Dienstleistungs­zentrum, son­­­­dern veränderten die gesamte Region.

Auch auf der Straße kann die Region Kassel heute ihre Lage­vorteile nutzen. Die Ballungs­räume im Norden, Wes­ten und Süden des Landes sind über die bestehenden Autobahnen A7, A44 und A49 schnell erreichbar. Und auch die lange Zeit unterbrochene Anbin­dung nach Osten ist durch die inzwischen fast durchgängig befahrbare A38 Rich­­tung Halle und Leipzig wieder hergestellt.
Der Lückenschluss der Autobahn A44 nach Eisenach wird die Fahrzeiten in die ostdeutschen Bundesländer noch­­mals deutlich reduzieren. Das derzeit wichtigste Infrastrukturprojekt ist si­­cher der Neubau des Flughafens Kassel-Cal­­den für rund 150 Millionen Euro. Po­­si­tive öko­­nomische Auswirkungen werden nicht nur aus dem reinen Flug­ha­fen­be­­trieb er­­wartet, sondern vor allem auch durch die Besiedelung des angeschlossenen Industriegebiets, das in direkter Nach­­barschaft zu Eurocopter, ZF Luft­fahrt­technik und einigen weiteren be­­reits am Flughafen ansässigen Unter­neh­­men pro­­jektiert wird.

Innenstadt-CityPoint-Innen

Die Stärken des Wirtschaftsraums Kas­sel haben sich inzwischen herumgespro­­chen, vor allem auch in der Logis­tik­branche. Einen Grundstein dafür legte dabei sicher der Beschluss des Volks­­wagen-konzerns, die logistischen Akti­vi­­täten im Ersatzteilegeschäft in der Re­­gion Kassel zu bündeln. Heute verfügt das Volkswagen Original Teile Cen­­ter in den Hallen OTC 1 bis 5 über rund 500.000 Quadratmeter Lagerfläche und etwa 2.500 Mitarbeiter. Schon jetzt ist es da­­mit das größte Logistikzentrum Euro­pas – und OTC 6 ist schon in Pla­nung. Auch das etwa zeitgleich projektierte interkommunale Güter­ver­kehrs­zen­trum im Dreieck der Städte Kassel-Lohfelden-Ful­­dabrück wurde zur Er­­folgs­geschichte und die meisten Flächen des rund 60 Hektar umfassenden Areals sind bereits vermarktet. Davon profitiert auch der In­­dustriepark Kassel, das mit insgesamt 440 Hektar größte zusammenhängende Gewerbegebiet zwischen Han­no­­ver und Frankfurt. Mit seiner Lage di­­rekt im Schnittpunkt der Autobahnen A7, A44 und A49 kann dieser sicher als einer der interessantesten Standorte Deutsch­­lands bezeichnet werden. Rund 400 Unter­neh­­men mit über 9.000 Be­­schäftigten sind heute schon hier an­­sässig.

Im Kern ist die Wirtschaftsregion Kas­­sel ein Standort modernster Industrie­pro­­duktion geblieben. Das VW-Werk in Bau­­natal, Nordhessens größter Arbeit­ge­ber, hat sich zur Perle des Volks­wa­gen­­kon­­zerns gemausert. Bombardier pro­du­­ziert in Kassel die hochwertigsten Loko­­mo­tiven für den Weltmarkt, auch die Lkw-Achsen des Technologieführers Mer­­cedes und die Fahrzeug- und Ver­kehrs­technik von Hübner entstehen in Kas­sel. Mit der Wintershall AG ist Deutsch­lands größter Erdöl- und Erdgas­pro­du­zent in Kas­­sel beheimatet. Und auch die Fir­men­zentrale des in den DAX auf­gestiegenen Unter­nehmens K+S Ak­­tien­­­gesellschaft sitzt in Kassel.
Jetzt soll ein zweites industrielles Stand­­bein den Wirtschaftsstandort dauerhaft stärken. Nordhessen soll zu einer Mo­­dell­­region für modernste Energie- und Effi­­zienz­­technologien entwickelt werden. Eine im Dezember 2007 vorgestellte Stu­­die rechnet dabei mit rund 20.000 hochqualifizierten Arbeitsplätzen bis 2020. Damit könnte dieser Wirtschafts­zweig eine so bedeutende Rolle spielen wie heute die Auto­mobil­­industrie. Das Kom­­petenz­netz­werk Dezen­­trale Energie­­ver­­sor­­gungs­­techno­logien e.V. vereint schon heute fast 100 Unternehmen, Dienst­­­leister und Forschungs­­­einrich­tungen, da­­runter das Fraunhofer-Institut für Bau­physik am Zentrum für umweltbewusstes Bauen an der Uni Kassel und das international re­­nommierte Fraunhofer-Institut für Wind­­energie und Energie­sys­tem­­technik – IWES. Nicht zuletzt das äußerst dynamisch wachsende Unter­nehmen SMA Solar Technology AG, das in Kassel gerade für 40 Millionen Euro die größte Wechsel­­richterfabrik der Welt gebaut hat, steht als Beleg dafür, dass die Wirt­schafts­­region Kassel schon heute international führend ist, wenn es um die Energietechnologien der Zukunft geht.

pic_Karlsaue

Wesentliche Impulse zur Regio­nal­ent­wick­­lung kommen vor allem auch aus der Universität Kassel, die inzwischen als eine der unternehmerischsten Hoch­­schulen Deutschlands gilt. Die Zahl der Studien­­anfänger steigt kontinuierlich, zum Winter­­semester 2009/2010 waren es fast 5.000. Mit den Investitionen in die Nanostruktur­­forschung oder Pro­jek­­ten zur Förderung des Technologie­transfers wurden bereits in den vergan­­genen Jahren die entspre­chenden Wei­chen gestellt. Als beispielhaft gilt auch das neu gegründete Anwendungs­­­zent­rum für Metallformgebung Metakus, das sich besonders durch seine Praxis­ver­­bunden­­heit zur Wirtschaft hervorhebt. Als Antwort auf die Herausforderungen des demografischen Wandels konkretisieren sich derzeit Investitions­pla­nun­­gen für einen Science-Park. Im direkten Umfeld der Universität gelegen, wird er optimale Bedingungen für Hochschule und Wirt­schaft bieten, um Projekte ge­­meinsam durchzuführen und an der Uni entstandenes Wissen unmittelbar in Ar­­beits­plätze um­­zuwandeln.

Die Beispiele zeigen, dass sich die Wirt­­schaftsregion Kassel mit den erfolgten Investitionen bereits gut für die Zukunft gerüstet hat. Schon in den letzten Jah­ren ist ein bemerkenswerter Auf­schwung festzu­­stellen, der sich sehr positiv auf den Arbeits­­markt auswirkte und die Ar­­beits­­losigkeit im Bundesvergleich über­­durch­­schnittlich reduziert hat. Auf die Stärken als Wirt­­schafts­­standort, die Po­­tenziale der kulturel­­len Schätze und die Impulse der Univer­­sität kann die Re­­gion weiter aufbauen.

DSC_6906_breiterDer Autor studierte Rechts- und Politik­wissenschaften in Mar­burg. 1980 wurde er Refe­rent des damaligen Ober­bürger­meisters Hans Eichel. 1986 übernahm er die Lei­tung des Rechts­amtes der Stadt. 1996 wur­­de er Regie­rungs­präsident. Von 1999 bis 2005 lei­tete er das Kom­mu­nale Gebiets­rechen­zentrum in Kassel. Zu­dem war er Ge­schäfts­führer des IT-Un­ter­­­neh­­­mens ekom21. Seit 2005 ist er Ober­bür­­­­ger­meis­­ter der documenta-Stadt Kassel.