Bernd Gründemann: Investments in the location Rhineland-Palatinate and energy and resource efficient manufacturing processes


In view of rising raw materials prices, we need new solutions for the interaction between cost, process and resource-efficiency. ACO Guss has made significant investments in
highly-automated equipment and evolved into a high-tech foundry in Kaiserslautern.


EBN24: Mr Gründemann, ACO Eurobar, a subsidiary of ACO Guss and a manufacturer of continuous casting products, places much importance on the quality of its products. It produces castings based on the new European standard DIN EN 16482 – Continuous cast iron bars. What exactly does this mean?

Gründemann: Our continuous casting products are used in very demanding applications, for example in the hydraulics and pneumatics industries, mechanical and machine-tool engineering, the automotive industry etc. In these industries, only those companies that can supply products with a favourable combination of cost and quality will survive. This was why ACO Eurobar was also an active participant when the industry’s own, generally-applicable standard for continuous casting was developed for the first time in the form of DIN EN 16482 – Continuous cast iron bars. This standard is used by manufacturers as a guide and makes it easier for customers to prepare tenders and compare continuous-cast materials. That is also the reason why the new DIN EN 16482 is the basis of our technical specification. ACO Eurobar guarantees certain additional characteristics for its continuous-cast products above and beyond the requirements of the standard. For example, these are important for estimating the useful working life of new components at the construction stage.

EBN24: Many customers want greater availability in the shortest time possible. How do you ensure this assurance of quality taking into account the availability of raw materials and the accompanying logistics?

Gründemann: For one thing, we work closely with customers, who send us their requirements electronically, such as via EDI. We also permanently hold over 6,000 tonnes of continuous-cast products in our warehouse. We round off our “just-in-time” concept with a network of qualified logistics service providers, suppliers and machining specialists for our continu­ous-cast products from the local region. And we are currently discussing new production concepts such as an “express line”.

EBN24: Raw materials and energy costs are rising rapidly and determine the price of the end-products to a large extent. In the future, only those companies that use materials and energy sustainably and efficiently will survive. What investments have you been able to make so far in this respect?

Gründemann: ACO Eurobar is a subsidiary of ACO Guss GmbH, which has become a high-tech foundry over the last few years through significant investment in highly-automated plant. The new machine park allows us to produce with greater efficiency in relation to both energy and resources. And our energy management system according to EN 50001 contributes to the systematic and long-term minimisation of CO2 emissions and further reduction in energy needs. For example, our new annealing furnace is equipped with a heat recovery function. Less well-known, by the way, is the fact that foundries per se are also recycling operations, as they use mainly scrap metal and metal turnings as raw materials.

EBN24: The fact that CO2 is released in steel production, for example, is unavoidable. How can emissions from foundry operations be reduced further?

Gründemann: We do that with new filter techniques for air purification and noise-reduction. Instead of extracting and cleaning all the air in the hall as we have been doing so far, ACO Guss now extracts smoke directly at the furnace cover. We also make our employees more aware of making more responsible use of resources and switching off everything that isn’t needed right at that moment.

 

EBN24: Do these measures improve working conditions at the same time?

Gründemann: Yes, efficient extrac­tion and filter equip­­ment also improves the employees’ working environment be­cause they no longer work – as used to be the case in foundries – in an atmosphere severely contaminated by dust. Even though we are a foundry with a tough working environment, we still have to be an attractive em­ployer, otherwise we will have difficulty finding suitably qualified em­­ployees. Today, people ex­­pect – quite rightly so – high standards. We are continuing to work on this topic in order to be seen as an attractive, modern employer in this region and in order to be an exciting company in regard to vocational training. School pupils and potential ap­prentices and trainees who have a brief look at our company are always pleasantly surprised how clean the foundry is and at the qualified employment opportunities that we offer. For example, our apprentices and trainees have a choice of eleven different trades and professions and can be trained as model-builders, industrial mechanics, materials testers or foundry mechanics.

EBN24: Where do you see the greatest hurdles in energy-efficiency?

Gründemann: As a company with energy-intensive production, we are eligible for reinbursement of the German EEG surcharge imposed under the Renewable Energy Sources Act. Without this reimbursement it would be almost impossible to operate a foundry in Germany profitably as energy costs are going up all the time and official regulations and requirements are becoming increasingly stricter. Legislation is not always clear and often highly complex. Ultimately, investments in this type of activity, which, of course, always bind staff capacity, are difficult to amortise. And of course, every company only has limited financial resources.

EBN24: Chinese companies in particular are some of the world’s largest manufacturers of steel and castings and are pushing their way onto the European market. Where do you see the advantage for the German industrial sector and what are Kaiserslautern’s strong points?

Gründemann: We and the German industrial sector as a whole create and preserve jobs for skilled personnel in Germany and Europe. We invest for long-term development in our respective locations. Our standards in respect of energy efficiency, environmental protection and workplace safety in Germany are very high. We are very well-positioned logistic­ally in Kaiserslautern because we are located in the heart of Europe from where we can reach our markets and customers very easily. With MTU, the Institute of Technology, the Fraunhofer Institute and other research centres, we have a good institutional foundation for promotion of talent, training, recruitment of skilled employees and in addition for transfer of knowledge and technology. Not the least of Kaiserslautern’s advantages is that it offers a high quality of life, such as proximity to the Pfälzerwald biosphere reserve at reasonable property prices.

Bernd Gründemann
Bernd Gründemann has a graduate-level degree in business administration and has been managing director of ACO Eurobar GmbH and authorised company officer at ACO Guss GmbH, Kaiserslautern since 2014. He previously worked in the company as a sales manager. From 1995 to 2011, Bernd Gründemann was heading International Sales at BITO Lagertechnik and previous to that, worked in various positions in industries in other sectors.

Bernd Gründemann: Investitionen in den Standort Rheinland-Pfalz und energie- und ressourceneffiziente Fertigungsverfahren


Ange­sichts steigender Rohstoffpreise brauchen wir neue Lösungen für das Zusammenspiel zwischen Kosten-, Prozess- und Ressourceneffizienz. Die ACO Guss hat sich mit kräftigen Investitionen in hochautomatisierte Anlagen zu einem High-Tech-Gießereibetrieb am Standort Kaiserslautern entwickelt.


EBN24: Sehr geehrter Herr Gründemann, die ACO Eurobar, eine Tochter der ACO Guss und Hersteller von Strangguss-Produkten, legt großen Wert auf die Qualität ihrer Produkte. Sie produziert Gussteile auf Basis der neuen europäischen Norm DIN EN 16482 – Gusseisen – Strangguss. Was genau ist darunter zu verstehen?

Gründemann: Unsere Strangguss-Produkte werden in anspruchsvollen Branchen eingesetzt, z. B. in der Hydraulik- und Pneumatik­­industrie, dem Werkzeug- und Maschinenbau, der Automobil­­industrie etc. Hier besteht heute nur, wer qualitativ hochwertige und zugleich wirtschaftliche Produkte anbieten kann. Deshalb war ACO Eurobar auch mit dabei, als mit der DIN EN 16482 – Gusseisen – Strangguss erstmals eine eigene, allge­­mein gültige Norm für den Strang­­guss ent­­wickelt wurde. Sie dient den Herstellern zur Orientierung und erleichtert es Kunden, Ausschreibungen zu erstellen und Strangguss-Ma­­ter­­­ialien zu vergleichen. Deshalb ist die neue DIN EN 16482 auch die Ba­­sis unserer technischen Spezi­fi­ka­tion. ACO Eurobar garantiert über die Forderungen der Norm hinaus zu­­sätzliche bestimmte Eigen­schaf­­ten für seinen Strangguss. Die sind z. B. bei der Konstruktion von neuen Bauteilen wichtig für die Berechnung der Lebensdauer.

EBN24: Viele Kunden verlangen nach hoher Verfügbarkeit innerhalb kürzester Zeit. Wie sichern Sie dieses Qualitäts­ver­sprech­en unter Berück­sich­ti­gung der Verfügbarkeit der Roh­­stoffe und der damit einhergehenden Logistik?

­Gründemann: Wir stimmen uns zum einen eng mit unseren wichtigsten Kunden ab, die uns ihre Bedarfe elektronisch übermitteln, z. B. per EDI. Außerdem halten wir per­­manent mehr als 6.000 Tonnen Strangguss und viele Standard­produkte in unserem umfangreichen Lager vor. Mit einem Netz­­werk an qualifizierten Logistikdienstleistern sowie Zulieferern und Bearbeitern für unsere Strangguss-Produkte aus der Region runden wir unser Just-in-Time Konzept ab. Aktuell diskutieren wir außerdem neue Konzepte in der Fertigung, wie z. B. eine „Expresslinie“.

EBN24: Die Rohstoff- und Energiekosten steigen rapide an und bestimmen maßgeblich den Preis des Endprodukts. Künftig werden sich nur die Unternehmen auf dem Markt behaupten, die Material und Energie nachhaltig und effizient nutzen. Welche Investitionen konnten Sie diesbezüglich bereits realisieren?

Gründemann: Die ACO Eurobar ist ein Tochter­unter­neh­men der ACO Guss GmbH, die sich in den letzten Jahren mit kräftigen Investitionen in hochautomatisierte Anlagen zu einem High-Tech-Gießereibetrieb am Standort Kaiserslautern entwickelt hat. Mit dem neuen Maschinenpark können wir heute deutlich energie- und ressourceneffizienter produzieren. Auch unser Energie­­­­managementsystem nach DIN 50001 trägt zur systematischen und nachhaltigen Minimierung des CO2-Ausstoßes und der weiteren Senkung des Energieverbrauchs bei. Unser neuer Glühofen ist beispielsweise mit einer Wärmerück­­ge­­winnung ausgestattet. Wenig bekannt ist übrigens, dass Gieß­­er­­eien per se Recyc­ling­­betriebe sind, da hauptsächlich Schrott und Späne als Rohstoff eingesetzt werden.

EBN24: Dass beispielsweise bei der Stahlproduktion CO2 frei wird, ist fast unvermeidlich. Wie lassen sich die Emissionen im Gießereibetrieb weiter senken?

Gründemann: Z. B. mit neuer Filtertechnik für saubere Luft und Lärm­­schutz­­maßnahmen. Statt wie bislang die gesamte Luft in der Halle abzusaugen und zu filtern, wird bei ACO Guss nun der Rauch direkt am Ofendeckel abgesaugt. Außerdem sensibilisieren wir unsere Mitarbeiter, sorgsam mit den Ressourcen um­­zu­­gehen und alles abzuschalten, was aktuell nicht benötigt wird.

 

EBN24: Verbessern diese Maßnahmen gleichzeitig die Arbeitsbedingungen?

Gründemann: Ja – effiziente Absaug- und Filteranlagen verbessern auch das Arbeitsumfeld der Mitarbeiter, weil nicht mehr, wie früher in einer Gießerei üblich, unter hoher Staubbelastung gear­­bei­­tet wird. Auch als Gießerei mit einem rauen Arbeitsumfeld muss man attraktiv als Arbeitgeber sein, sonst findet man in der heutigen Zeit keine qualifizierten Arbeitskräfte. Die Leute erwarten heute – zu recht – einen hohen Standard. Wir arbeiten weiter daran, als attraktiver, moderner Arbeit­geber in der Region wahrgenommen zu werden und für junge Menschen ein interessanter und spannender Ausbildungs­­betrieb zu sein. Schüler und potenzielle Azubis, die bei uns rein­­schnuppern, sind jedes Mal positiv überrascht, wie sauber unsere Gießerei ist und welche Möglich­­keiten sich ihnen in diesem High-Tech Betrieb eröffnen. Unsere Azubis können beispielsweise unter elf verschiedenen Berufen wählen und werden z. B. zum Modellbauer, Industriemechaniker, Werkstoffprüfer oder Gießerei­mechaniker ausgebildet.

EBN24: Wo sehen Sie die größten Hürden beim Thema Energieeffizienz?

Gründemann: Als Unternehmen mit einer energieintensiven Produktion wird uns die EEG-Umlage erstattet. Ohne diese Erstattung könnte man eine Gießerei in Deutschland kaum noch profitabel betreiben. Denn die Energiekosten steigen zu­­sehends, Auflagen und Vorschriften werden immer härter. Ge­­setze sind in ihrer Sinnhaftigkeit nicht immer zu verstehen und oftmals hochkom­­plex. Schlussendlich lassen sich Investitionen in diesem Bereich, die ja auch immer personelle Kapazitäten benötigen, teilweise nur schwer amortisieren. Und natürlich gibt es in jedem Unternehmen nur begrenzte finanzielle Ressourcen, die man einsetzen kann.

EBN24: Insbesondere chinesische Unternehmen zählen zu den größten Stahl- und Gussproduzenten weltweit und drängen auf den europäischen Markt. Wo sehen Sie den Vorteil der deutschen Industrie­branche und womit punktet der Stand­­ort Kaisers­lautern?

Gründemann: Wir und die gesamte deutsche Industriebranche schaffen und erhalten Ar­­beits­­­plätze für qualifiziertes Personal in Deutsch­­land und Europa. Wir investieren für nachhaltige Ent­­wicklung an unseren Standorten. Unsere Standards hinsichtlich Energie­­effi­zienz, Umweltschutz und Arbeitssicherheit sind in Deutschl­and sehr hoch. In Kaiserslautern sind wir logistisch hervorragend auf­­gestellt, weil wir im Herzen Europas liegen, von wo aus unsere Ab­­satz­­märkte und Kunden sehr gut zu erreichen sind. Mit TU, Hochschule, dem Fraunhofer Institut und anderen Forschungsein­­richtungen verfügen wir hier über sehr gute Insti­tutionen zur Nach­­­­wuchs­­förderung, Fachkräfteausbildung und -re­­kru­­tierung und zum Wissens- und Technologietransfer. Nicht zuletzt bietet Kaisers­­lautern eine hohe Lebensqualität, z. B. mit der Nach­­barschaft zum Bio­s­­phären­­reservat Pfälzerwald, bei einem er­schwinglichen Preisniveau.

Bernd Gründemann
Der Diplom Betriebswirt ist seit 2014 Geschäftsführer der ACO Eurobar GmbH und Prokurist bei der ACO Guss GmbH, Kaiserslautern. Zuvor war er im Unternehmen als Vertriebsleiter tätig. In den Jahren von 1995 bis 2011 leitete Bernd Gründemann u.a. den internationalen Vertrieb bei der BITO Lagertechnik und hatte zuvor verschiedene Positionen in Industrieunternehmen anderer Branchen inne.