Armin Gehl: Global corporations and SME coin the automotive location

Saarland is a location with sophisticated competence in the automotive industry. According to a study of In­­­­­­sti­­­­tut der Deutschen Wirtschaft (German Institute of Economy – Co­­log­­ne), the fourth smallest federal state today is the third-biggest automobile supply centre for Ger­­many. In lieu of the structural transformation from steel and coal industry all the way to the automotive industry, significant manu­­facturers and suppliers have settled in Saarland over the past 35 years. These have be­­come the motor of the economy of the Saarland. The sector recently re­­corded an average yearly turnover of ten billion euros. That is 40 per cent of the whole of Saarland’s industrial turn­­over. From this, around six billion eu­­ros are achieved through ex­­ported bu­­siness.
The automotive industry also provides the main share for new investments in Saarland with an average of 350 million euros. All in all, more than 46,000 em­­ployment contracts and over 150 companies on the Saar today, directly or in­­directly, are dependent upon the au­­to­­motive sector. This means that in Saar­­­­land, every fourth industrial employee works in automobile construction. Also in the larger region of SaarLorLux, the au­­to­­motive field is the largest industrial sector. Here it provides twelve per cent of workplaces, whereby Lorraine – as the second strongest automobile centre in France – together with Saarland makes the greater contribution here.

064-sb-288_lg

The spectrum of production in Saarland is extremely varied. Large companies, such as Ford in Saarlouis, Robert Bosch GmbH in Homburg or ZF Getriebe GmbH in Saarbrücken, generated the settlement of numerous suppliers and subcontractors and thereby brought forward far-reaching competency in different key areas among Saarland’s gainfully employed.

Around 2,000 vehicles are produced every day at the Fordplant. According to international studies on the automobile industry, the factory – with its flexible and slim work processes – counts as an exemplary model for European automobile manufacturers.
The outstanding competence in logistics and production processes is also mirrored in the interplay with the supplier park that settled around the Ford premises.

Homburg is an important manufacturing location for Bosch regarding high-tech diesel systems as well as industrial hydraulics, and it plays a significant role in the worldwide developing and manufacturing network. The factory pro­­duces components for the high-pressure fuel injection systems “Common Rail” and “Unit Pump System”. Above all, suppliers of manufacturing parts, test stands and injection components supply the location from nearby.

untitled

Also the production of ZF automatic gears in Saarbrücken has made the settlement of suppliers more favourable. Highly de­­veloped areas are the fields of assembly line and special machine construction as well as the stamping technique. The construction of exhaust systems has been successfully conducted with a constant reduction in pollutant and noise emissions by Ebers­­päch­­er GmbH & Co. KG at the Neunkirchen location for decades. Many SMEs have settled around the fa­­ci­­l­­i­­tes and mainly deliver stamping parts, pressing tools and appliances.

Advantageous to Saarland is also the specialized knowledge of steel production that is based on its industrial history. The Saar­­stahl concern above all supplies raw ma­­te­­rials, among other things, for the production of crankshafts, tire cord and high-strength connection devices to SMEs around the state.

Further important competencies with which large concerns attract SMEs to settle near them and to encourage them with orders are the production of engine blocks made of cast iron and aluminium, motor elements, vehicle seals, trim strips, bumpers, tyres as well as the construction of prototype car bodies of important automobile producers.
The networking of SMEs and major enterprises is carried out by the automotive.saarland cluster. In the fields of company cooperation, technology transfer, qualification, market research and lo­­cation marketing, contacts are initiated on all levels of company areas and synergies are encouraged.

 

Automotive_Karte_Saarl_X1

In summary, the great potential of Saar­­land’s automobile industry can be ex­­plained through many aspects: eight per cent of vehicles produced in Ger­­many come from Saarland. Ve­­hicles “made in Saarland” also drive around in Angola, Australia, Jamaica, Japan, Tahiti, Taiwan, New Zealand and South Africa. Re­­no­­w­­ned premium vehicles receive up to 50 per cent of their in­­crease in value from companies that produce in Saarland. With the placement of the innovation cluster Auto­­mo­­tive Quality Saar, the Fraun­­hofer-Ge­­sell­­schaft also makes use of this versatility and competence. All this indicates the excellent initial position for Saar­­land to use its location advantages in the best possible way and build up the potential of its economic power in a goal-oriented manner.

GEHL_IMG_2530Armin Gehl, born in 1948, took on an editorial position at the Saarländischer Rund­­funk. Following this he worked in the field of press/public relations for VSE and BOSCH as well as for the Mi­­ni­­s­­try of Eco­­nomic Af­­fairs (1999–2000). He is a temporary lecturer at the Saar­­land Uni­­ver­­sity of Applied Sciences (HTW) and has been the head of the cluster automotive.saarland at the Centre for productivity and technology in the Saarland (ZPT) since 2006.

Armin Gehl: Weltkonzerne und Mittelstand prägen den Automotive-Standort

Das Saarland hat auf dem Gebiet der Automobilwirtschaft eine ausgeprägte Standortkompetenz. Nach ei­­ner Studie des Instituts der Deutsch­­en Wirtschaft (Köln) ist das viertkleinste Bundesland heute das drittgrößte Auto­­mobil-Zuliefererzentrum Deutschlands. Im Zuge des Strukturwandels von Stahl- und Montanindustrie hin zur Auto­­mo­­bil­­industrie haben sich im Saarland in den letzten 35 Jahren bedeutende Her­­steller und Zulieferer angesiedelt. Sie sind zum Motor der saarländisch­­en Wirtschaft geworden. Die Branche ver­­zeichnete zu­­letzt einen durchschnittlichen Jahres­­um­­satz von zehn Milli­­arden Euro. Das sind 40 Prozent des gesamten saarländischen In­­dus­­trie­­um­­satzes. Davon werden rund sechs Milli­­ar­­den Euro durch Ex­­port­­ge­­schäf­­te er­­wirtschaftet.
Auch den Hauptanteil für neue In­­ves­­ti­­tionen stellt im Saarland mit durchschnittlich 350 Millionen Euro die Auto­­mo­­bil­­in­dustrie. Insgesamt hängen heute mehr als 46.000 Beschäftigungsverhältnisse und über 150 Unternehmen an der Saar direkt oder indirekt von der Fahr­­zeug­­branche ab. Das bedeutet, dass im Saarland jeder vierte Industrie­­mit­­ar­­bei­­ter im Fahrzeugbau arbeitet. Auch in der Großregion SaarLorLux ist die Au­­to­­mobilbranche der größte In­­dus­­trie­­sek­­tor. Sie stellt dort zwölf Prozent der Arbeitsplätze, wobei Lothringen als zweit­­stärkstes Automobilzentrum Frank­­reichs gemeinsam mit dem Saarland dazu den vorrangigen Beitrag leistet.

064-sb-288_lg
Das Produktionsspektrum ist im Saar­­land weit gefächert. Groß­­unter­­neh­­men wie die Ford-Werke in Saarlouis, die Ro­­bert Bosch GmbH in Homburg oder die ZF Getriebe GmbH in Saarbrücken ha­­ben die Ansiedlung etlicher Zulieferer und Un­­terlieferanten hervorgerufen und so­­mit unter den saarländischen Er­­­­werbs­­tätigen eine weitreichende Kompetenz in verschiedenen Schlüsselsparten voran­­getrieben:

Rund 2.000 Fahrzeuge können im Ford-Werk täglich produziert werden. Nach internationalen Studien der Auto­­mobil­­in­­dustrie gilt das Werk mit seinen flexiblen und schlanken Arbeitsprozessen als Musterwerk innerhalb der europäischen Fahrzeughersteller. Die herausragende Kompetenz in Logistik- und Pro­­duktionsprozessen spiegelt sich auch im Zusammenspiel mit dem um das Fordgelände angesiedelten Zulie­­fer­­er­­park wider.
Homburg ist für Bosch ein wichtiger Fertigungsstandort für Hightech-Die­­sel­­systeme sowie Industriehydraulik und hat im weltweiten Entwicklungs- und Fertigungsverbund große Be­­deu­­tung. Das Werk produziert Komponenten für die Hochdruck-Einspritzsysteme Common Rail und Unit Pump System. Vor allem Zulieferer von Fertigungsteilen, Prüf­­stän­­den und Injektorkomponenten beliefern den Standort aus unmittelbarer Nähe.

untitled

Auch die Herstellung von ZF-­­Auto­­ma­­tik­­getrieben in Saarbrücken hat die An­­sied­­lung von Zulieferern begünstigt. Sehr stark entwickelt sind dabei die Bereiche Montagelinien- und Sonder­­ma­­schinenbau sowie Stanztechnik.
Die Herstellung von Abgassystemen wird von der Eberspächer GmbH & Co. KG am Standort Neunkirchen seit Jahr­­zehn­­ten erfolgreich mit stetiger Ver­­rin­­ger­ung von Schadstoff- und Geräusch­­e­­missionen betrieben. Viele kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen haben sich um das Werk platziert und liefern vorwiegend Stanzteile, Presswerkzeuge und Vorrichtungen.

Zugute kommt dem Saarland auch das auf der Industriehistorie basierende Fach­­wissen zur Stahlherstellung. Der Kon­­zern Saarstahl beliefert vor allem große und mittlere Unternehmen im Land mit Vor­­materialien, unter anderem zur Her­­stel­­l­­ung von Kurbelwellen, Reifendraht und hochfesten Verbindungs­­ele­­men­­ten.

Weitere wichtige Kompetenzen, mit de­­nen größere Konzerne mittelständische und kleine Unternehmen um sich an­­siedeln und mit Aufträgen fördern, sind die Herstellung von Motorblöcken aus Eisenguss und Aluminium, Motoren­­ele­­menten, Fahrzeugdichtungen, Zier­­leis­­ten, Stoßfängern, Reifen sowie der Ka­­rosse­­rie­­bau von Prototypen wichtiger Auto­­mobilhersteller.
Die Vernetzung der kleinen, mittleren und großen Unternehmen übernimmt der Clus­­ter automotive.saarland. In den Be­­reich­en Unternehmens­­ko­­oper­­a­­tion, Tech­­no­logie­­transfer, Qualifizierung, Mar­­kterkundung und Standortmarketing werden auf allen Ebenen der Unter­­neh­­mens­­­­felder Kon­­tak­­te angebahnt und Syn­­er­­gien gefördert.

Automotive_Karte_Saarl_X1

Zusammenfassend lässt sich das enorme Potenzial der saarländischen Auto­­mo­­bilindustrie unter vielen Aspekten verdeutlichen: Acht Prozent der in Deutsch­­land hergestellten Fahrzeuge kommen aus dem Saarland. Fahrzeuge „Made in Saarland“ fahren auch in Angola, Aus­­tralien, Jamaika, Japan, Tahiti, Taiwan, Neuseeland und Südafrika. Reno­­m­­mier­­te Premiumfahrzeuge erhalten bis zu 50 Prozent ihrer Wertschöpfung von im Saarland produzierenden Unter­­neh­­men. Diese Vielseitigkeit und Kom­pe­­tenz macht sich auch die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft mit der Platzierung des Inno­­vations­­clus­­ters Automotive Quality Saar im Saarland zunutze. All das zeigt die ausgezeichnete Ausgangslage für das Saarland, um seine Stand­­ort­­vor­­teile zu nutzen und das Po­­ten­­zial seiner Wirtschaftskraft zielgerichtet auszubauen.

GEHL_IMG_2530Armin Gehl (Jahrgang 1948) hat zunächst beim Saarländischen Rund­­funk gearbeitet. Er wirkte später im Bereich Presse/PR für die VSE und BOSCH so­­wie für das Wirt­­schafts­­mi­­nis­­terium (1999–2000). Armin Gehl ist Lehr­beauftragter an der Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft des Saarlandes (HTW) und seit 2006 Leiter des Clusters automotive.saarland bei der Zentrale für Pro­­duk­­ti­­vität und Tech­­no­­lo­­gie Saar e.V. (ZPT).