Annegret Reinhardt-Lehmann & Jörg Schaub – New models for success for the metropolitan regions – Opportunities for FrankfurtRhineMain

Taking a closer look at the structures of metropolitan regions in Europe and the world, one can clearly distinguish two types of organisational models. One model is based on a strong ur­ban centre that bundles the most di­­verse functions of the metropolitan re­­gion: the cultural offerings, business activities, politics, social exchange, health care services, in addition to science and research institutions. The strong functional concentration offers numer­­ous advantages, such as the com­­par­­a­tively high efficiency of the transport systems due to higher bundling ef­fects. Even the so-called governance structures of centralistically organised metro­­politan regions appear to be more effi­­cient, as many areas, such as re­­gion­­al planning and the promotion of culture, business or tourism, are or­­gan­­­ised from a central institution. Such structures often result in faster decision-making as well as earlier and more efficient project and initiative launches and im­­ple­­mentations. Not least, this al­­so re­­sults in a great number of marketing advantages for the internal and ex­­ter­­nal presentation. The focus on the centre of the metropolitan region gives the region a clear profile, which in turn makes international perceptibility much easier.

Another significant advantage of a cen­­­­trally structured metropolis is the sym­­biotic relationship between the core city and its surrounding area. Here one can see a clear allocation of roles. The surrounding area sees itself as a logical benefactor and close partner of the metropolitan region. A fact that is lived and practised independently of actual city and community boundaries. One example that can be named in Ger­­many is the European metropolitan re­­gion of Munich, which, apart from the core city of Munich, includes small­­er cities such as Ingolstadt or Augsburg. In terms of external presentation, it is very important for these municipalities to position themselves at the level of the Munich metropolitan region, as they otherwise would not be able to attract the same kind of international attention. The symbiosis also leads to a closer collaboration between the var­­ious players involved. The mutual benefit that is created through the appeal of the strong centre to the surrounding communities represents an excellent basis for trusting and targeted cooperation.

IMG_8332The author assumed the position as head of the marketing department of Fra­­port AG in 1997. Since August 2005, she has been responsible for the areas of marketing, sales support and committees. As of 1 May, 2007, she has additionally taken over the position as man­­ag­­ing director of the Wirtschaftsinitiative.

Many polycentric structures – as a coun­­ter model to the centralised metropolitan regions – can in particular also be found in Germany. The best example for this is Rhine-Ruhr, the larg­­est metropolitan region in Ger­­many with a population of over 10 million. The Rhine-Ruhr metropolitan region in­­­­­cludes the cities Cologne, Düsseldorf, Dort­mund, Essen, Gelsenkirchen, Bo­­chum and Bonn, among others. Com­­pared to Munich, this alone demonstrates a sig­­nificantly higher level of complexity in establishing an allocative function at the level of the metropolitan region. When it comes to a joint positioning and alignment, however, an effective allocative function becomes essential, as the competitive­­ness and strength of a metropolitan region goes far beyond the mere addition of key figures.

Polycentric metropolitan regions must rather concentrate on clearly defining and underlining the additional benefit of polycentrism, which can usually be found in the diversity of the interactions within the metropolitan region, in the close regional network, economic ties and in the social exchange. From this diversity of interactions, however, it is important to define content-related fo­­cuses in the context of developing pro­­files, which then have to be formulated into strategies. A brand essence, in other words a type of regional DNA, must be carved out from a virtual struc­­­­ture that is neither anchored politic­ally nor socially established and which must reflect the region as a whole.

These types of processes are extremely difficult to implement in polycentric metropolitan regions. The sheer number of the parties involved in the Rhine-Ruhr metropolitan region intimates just how complex and elaborate these tasks really are. Organising a strategic discussion in terms of content on a continual basis and reviewing the implementation of agreed strategies on an ongoing basis does not make the task easier either.

Schaub2Fulfilling the function as deputy man­­ag­­­­ing director, the author has been in charge of the Wirtschaftsinitiative Frank­­furt­RheinMain e.V. branch since May 2007. In particular, he is responsible for the areas of committees, mem­­ber support, controlling and project man­­age­­ment, as well as marketing and press work.

Establishing a corresponding identity therefore represents one of the biggest challenges of polycentric metropolitan regions. Traditional regional boundaries in the Rhine-Ruhr region (“Lower Rhine”, “Ruhr Valley” and “Rhine­­land”), for example, are still very much pronounced. However, in light of in­­creasing globalisation and competition among the world’s metropolitan re­­gions, it would be more sensible to develop an identity along the lines of “Rhine-Ruhr”. This in turn first re­­quires an appropriate awareness among the players of the metropolitan region and a great deal of patience, as re­­gional identities take a very long time to develop.

As an interim assessment, it can be stated that the centrally structured re­­gions enjoy significant benefits com­­pared to polycentric structures. One decisive question remains: which of the two models can remain in the future and is sustainable in the long term? Against the background of global developments, there might be new opportunities for polycentric metro­pol­­­­itan regions in particular, such as Frankfurt RhineMain.

The steady immigration into the metro­­­­polises of this world remains un­­changed with no trend reversal in sight. This population dynamics presents ever-grow­­ing challenges for many cities. None of the existing infrastructures of the world are able to withstand the projected influx, even if many metropolises are already implementing or plan­­ning gigantic infrastructure pro­­jects such as the Dubai Metro or the multi terminal in Shanghai. China in particu­­lar is trying to cope with this phenomenon by developing infrastruc­­tures at a breath-taking pace. In 2012, Chinese authorities announced an in­­vestment volume of 157 billion US dollars as part of an economic stimulus package for infrastructure projects.

 

143634_en-Kopie Bankgeschäfte-im-persönlichen-Kontakt-erledigen-kopieren-Kopie DB_Handelsraum6-kopieren-Kopie

The permanent adjustment of the infra­­­­­structures to the actual and future re­­quirements is one of the most difficult and lasting tasks of a metropolitan re­­gion. This is because an adequate avail­­ability of modern infrastructures is per se one of the most essential competitive factors of a metropol­­itan region. Nevertheless, when confronted with day-to-day realities, it can be stated that city planning is basically forced to chase the actual re­­quirements due to its slow implementation. In many re­­gions, the implemen­­tation of infrastruc­­ture measures is simply not able to keep up with the increasing population, even with the best possible planning. In spite of how extensive the respective long-term in­­fra­­structure and invest­­ment needs may appear to be, the adjustments re­­quired can mostly only be implemented with relatively long delays and, at the same time, very high costs.

Because of this, policy-makers and plan­­ners are often forced to concentrate on removing short-term infra­­struc­­­­ture bottlenecks. The consequence is that no networking takes place within the projects, thus they are handled completely independently of one an­­other and without any reference to their importance for the metropolitan region. The timeframe, high costs and the complexity of long-term strategic city development, as well as the supposed positive political perception of short-term successes, let this prioritisation appear reasonable. That being said, in the long-term, however, this de­­velopment will have a negative im­­pact on the region.

As a result, certain repercussions will have to be taken into account increasingly more often, such as traffic jams, restrictions in energy supply, expensive housing, environmental detriments as well as a lack of school and childcare provisions. Centralistically structured metropolitan regions face this problem to a greater extent due to the lack of compensation areas and the limitations in terms of additional densi­­fication. The pressure on the core city is increasing at a steady pace, which is highlighted by high rent and high mobility and infra­­structure costs. This in turn prevents the seizing of opportunities for growth, impairs the dy­­nam­­ics and chips away at the overall long-term competitiveness of the metropolitan region.


256987-Kopie 2012_Suzuki_Splash_Facelift_Still_02-Kopie

Polycentric structures are able to cush­­ion these effects much better, as the mentioned problematic areas occur in a less profound way and can be solved at a more compartmentalized, local level. The polycentric structure also enables smaller centres to develop their own ap­­peal. The more a subcentre con­­cen­­trates on clusters of spe­­cific topics and handles and represents them for the entire metropolitan region, the more it will be able to develop said appeal.

The polycentric European metropolitan region Frankfurt RhineMain is very well positioned in this context. The automation and material engineering clus­­ters are clearly focused on the Hanau region. Darmstadt has its strength in the areas of science, aerospace technology and IT. As the state capital, Wiesbaden forms the political core of the region and – along with the city of Bad Homburg – has a strong economic profile in the area of consulting and healthcare. The city of Frankfurt is the international metropolis in the fi­­nance and mobility segments and is well-positioned as a trade fair destina­­tion. What brings the region together are issues such as a high quality of life, internationality, a high standard of living, short distances as well as a diverse and premium range of culture and leisure activities. The Frankfurt­ Rhine­­Main metropolitan region therefore presents the advantage of not hav­­ing to focus on a single centre, but rather include a variety of subcentres that are able to offer their own strong in­­dividual profiles. However, the biggest challenge in re­­gions such as the Frank­­furt ­Rhine­Main region lies in the development of efficient control units that can reduce the complexity and the amount of time it takes to make decisions. This requires a great deal of transparency between the partners, a trusting and bipartisan cooperation as well as close coordination and connection in terms of content and topics. In this regard, a special em­­phasis is placed on the subject of know­­ledge management. The part­­ners within a met­­ropolitan region must be able to access all relevant information and be given the opportunity to actively contribute to the planning and execution of projects. Fur­­thermore, they must be able to draw up their own pro­­ject suggestions, in addition to ad­­dress­­ing and commenting on regional topics. What the region needs is a smart grid, an intelligent knowledge and com­­mu­­ni­­cation network with a joint “operating system” in form of a unified strat­­egy as well as the specification of main topics, contents and initiatives. The competitive advantages in this model are created by the degree of networking within the metropolitan region and the intelligent use of the network.

Such networking projects were specif­­ically introduced with the regional “Themenwelt” strategy process initiated by the Wirtschaftsinitiative Frankfurt­RheinMain. The House of Logistics & Mobility (HOLM), House of IT (HIT) and the Initiative House of Pharma cluster initiatives must be singled out in this regard. These competence centres are to bundle the projects and initiatives of business, science and politics and additionally offer teaching and top re­­search.

An unparalleled bundling of expertise into one network can and should ensure that Frankfurt RhineMain attracts transregional attention and gains interna­tional relevance in the previously men­­tioned areas. This will make the region more appealing for companies, academics, young talent and international specialists, convincing them to settle down in the Frank­­furt RhineMain region and join these networks.

The essential strategic competitive advantage of the polycentric Frankfurt­ RhineMain metropolitan region is thus clearly the area of knowledge network­­ing. It is vital that the region pursues a pioneering role here.

Annegret Reinhardt-Lehmann & Jörg Schaub – Neue Erfolgsmodelle für Metropolregionen

Betrachtet man sich die Strukturen von Metropolregionen in Europa und der Welt, fallen dabei zwei unterschiedliche Ge­­stal­­tungsmodelle auf. Das eine Mo­­dell ba­­siert auf einem starken in­­ne­­ren Zen­­trum, in dem sich die unter­­schied­­lichs­­ten Funk­­tionen der Me­­tro­­pol­­re­­gion bün­­deln: das Kultur­an­gebot, die wirt­­schaft­­lichen Akti­­­vi­­täten, die Politik, der gesell­­schaft­­liche Aus­­­tausch, die Gesund­­­­­­heits­ver­sor­­gung bis hin zu den Ein­­rich­­tungen von Wis­­sen­­­­­­­­schaft und For­schung. Diese starke funk­­tionale Konzentration bietet zahl­­reiche Vorteile, zum Beispiel eine ver­­­­gleichs­­wei­­se hohe Effizienz der Trans­­­­­­portsys­­teme durch höhere Bün­­de­­­­­­lungs­­­­effekte. Auch die sogenannten „Go­­ver­­­nance-Struk­­­tu­­ren“ zentralistisch orga­­­­ni­­­sierter Metro­­pol­re­­­gi­o­nen erscheinen effi­­­­­­zienter, da viele Be­­­reiche wie zum Bei­­­­­­spiel Raum­­pla­­nung, Kultur-, Wirt­­schafts- oder Tou­­ris­­­­mus­för­­­de­­­­rung von einer zen­­­­­tra­­len Ins­­ti­­tution aus orga­ni­­siert werden. Solche Struk­turen er­­mög­­­­­­lichen häufig, dass Ent­­­­schei­dun­­­­gen schnel­­­­ler ge­­trof­­fen werden und Pro­­jekte und Initia­­ti­­ven frühzeitiger und effi­­zienter gestartet und umgesetzt wer­­den können. Nicht zu­­letzt ergeben sich da­­rü­­ber hinaus zahlreiche Marke­­ting-Vor­­­teile für die Innen- und Außen­dar­­stel­­lung. Durch den Fokus auf das Zen­­t­­rum der Metropole erhält die Region ein ein­­­­deu­­ti­­ges Profil, welches wie­­derum die inter­­na­­tionale Wahrnehm­bar­keit deutlich erleichtert.
Einen weiteren großen Vorteil haben zentral strukturierte Metropolen durch das symbiotische Nebeneinander von Kern­stadt und Umland. Hier gibt es klare Rollenverteilungen. Das Umland sieht sich selbst als logischer Profiteur und enger Partner der Metropolregion. Dies wird unabhängig von tatsächlichen Stadt- und Gemeindegrenzen gelebt und prak­­tiziert. Als Beispiel in Deutschland ist hier die europäische Metropolregion Mün­­chen zu nennen. Hier sind neben der Kernstadt München ebenso kleinere Städte wie Ingolstadt oder Augsburg Bestandteil der Metropolregion. In der Außendarstellung ist es für diese Kom­­munen von großer Bedeutung, sich auf der Ebene der Metro­polregion München zu positionieren, da sie allein kaum eine Chance hätten, international Aufmerk­­sam­­keit auf sich zu ziehen. Diese Sym­­biose führt nebenbei zu einem engen Miteinander der verschiedenen Akteure. In dem gemeinsamen Nutzen, nämlich der Strahlkraft des starken Zentrums auf die umliegenden Ge­­meinden, liegt ein ex­­zellenter Nährboden für eine ver­­trau­­ens­­volle und zielgerichtete Zusam­men­­­­arbeit.

IMG_8332Die Autorin übernahm 1997 die Lei­­tung des Bereiches Marketing bei der Fraport AG. Seit August 2005 ist sie verantwortlich für den Bereich Marke­ting, Vertriebsunterstützung, Gremien. Zum 1. Mai 2007 hat sie zusätzlich die Geschäftsführung der Wirtschafts­ini­tia­tive übernommen.

Als Gegenmodell zu zentralistischen Me­­tropolregionen finden sich insbeson­­dere auch in Deutschland zahlreiche polyzentrische Strukturen. Bestes Bei­­spiel hierfür ist die größte deutsche Metropolregion Rhein-Ruhr mit mehr als 10 Millionen Einwohnern. Zu der Metro­­polregion Rhein-Ruhr zählen unter ande­­rem die Städte Köln, Düsseldorf, Dort­­mund, Essen, Gelsenkirchen, Bochum und Bonn. Allein dieser Umstand zeigt mit Blick auf den Vergleich mit Mün­­chen eine signifikant höhere Kom­­ple­­xi­­tät bei der Etablierung einer Steue­rungs­­funk­­tion auf der Ebene der Metropolre­gion auf. Für eine gemeinsame Aufstel­lung und Aus­­richtung ist jedoch eine effektive Steue­rungs­­funktion elementar wich­­tig. Denn die Wett­­­bewerbsfähigkeit und Stärke einer Metropolregion er­­schöpft sich nicht allein in dem Aufsum­­mieren von Kenn­zahlen.

Vielmehr müssen sich polyzentrische Metropolregionen darauf besinnen, den Zusatznutzen der Polyzentrik klar zu definieren und herauszustellen. Dieser liegt in der Regel in der Vielfältigkeit der Inter­­aktionen innerhalb der Metro­­pol­­re­­gion, in den engen regionalen Ver­­net­­zung, den wirtschaftlichen Verknüp­fun­­gen, im gesell­­­schaftlichen Aus­tausch. Aus dieser Vielfältigkeit der Inter­aktio­nen müssen jedoch im Zuge einer Profil­­­­­bil­­dung inhaltliche Schwerpunkte be­­stimmt und in regionale Strategien formuliert werden. Aus einem virtuellen Gebilde, das weder politisch verankert noch gesellschaftlich etabliert ist, muss ein Markenkern – beziehungsweise eine Art regionale DNA – herausgearbeitet wer­­den, in der sich die Region in ihrer Gesamtheit wiederfindet.

Solche Prozesse gestalten sich jedoch in polyzentrischen Metropolregionen außer­­­­­­ordentlich schwierig. Allein die An­­zahl der involvierten Parteien in der Metro­­pol­­­­region Rhein-Ruhr lässt erahnen, wie kom­­­­plex und aufwändig solche Aufga­­­­ben sind. Dass eine inhaltlich-strate­­gische Dis­­kus­­sion zudem kontinuierlich zu organisie­­ren ist und die Umsetzung einmal vereinbarter Strategien fortlaufend überprüft werden muss, macht die Aufgabe eben­­falls nicht leichter.

Schaub2Der Autor leitet in der Funktion als Stellvertreter der Geschäftsführung seit Mai 2007 die Geschäftsstelle der Wirt­­schaftsinitiative FrankfurtRheinMain e.V. Er verantwortet hierbei insbesondere die Bereiche Gremien, Mitglieder­be­treu­ung, Controlling und Projekt­manage­ment so­­wie das Marketing und die Pressearbeit.

Daher zählt es zu den größeren Heraus­­­­forderungen von polyzentrischen Metro­­­pol­­regionen, eine entsprechende Iden­ti­­­­tät aufzubauen. Zum Beispiel sind in der Rhein-Ruhr-Region tradierte re­­gio­­nale Ab­­­­­­­grenzungen („Niederrhein“, „Ruhr­­­­­­­pott“ und „Rheinland“) immer noch sehr stark ausgeprägt. Im Zuge der zu­­neh­­men­den Glo­­balisierung und des schärfer werdenden Wettbewerbs unter den Me­­tro­­­pol­­­­re­gio­­nen der Welt wäre es je­­doch erforderlich, eine Identität in Rich­­tung „Rhein-Ruhr“ zu entwickeln. Dies erfordert je­­doch zunächst, ein entspre­­chendes Be­­wusst­­sein unter den Akteuren der Metro­­polregion herzustellen. Eben­­­­so ist ein sehr langer Atem erforderlich, da sich regio­­nale Identitäten nur sehr lang­­fristig entwickeln und ausprägen.

Als Zwischenresümee kann man bei der Gegenüberstellung der beiden ver­­­schie­­­­denen Metropolregion-Modelle ge­­­­wich­­tige Vorteile bei den zentral struk­­tu­­rier­­ten Regionen erkennen. Die ent­­schei­dende Frage ist jedoch, welches der Mo­­delle ist langfristig zukunfts­­­­fähig und nachhaltig? Vor dem Hinter­­grund glo­­ba­­­­ler Ent­­wick­­lungen erge­­ben sich eventu­­ell gerade für polyzen­­tri­­sche Metro­pol­­re­­gionen wie auch Frankfurt­ Rhein­­Main neue Chancen.

Der stetige Zuzug in die Städte und Me­­­tro­­polen der Welt ist weiter ungebremst, eine Trendumkehr nicht er­­kenn­­bar. Viele Städte stellt diese Bevölke­­rungs­­dynamik vor immer größere He­­raus­­­forderungen. Weltweit ist keine der vorhan­­­de­nen Infrastrukturen dem prognostizierten Ansturm auf die Städte ge­­­­wachsen, auch wenn viele Me­­tro­­po­­len teilweise bereits gigantische Infra­struk­­­tur­projekte, wie zum Beispiel die Dubai Metro oder das Multi-Terminal in Shanghai, rea­lisiert oder auf den Weg gebracht haben. Gerade in China versucht man aktuell, diesem Phä­­no­­men mit einem atemberaubenden Tempo im Ausbau von Infra­­strukturen zu be­­gegnen. So verkün­­deten 2012 chine­­sische Behörden, im Rahmen eines Kon­­­­junk­­turprogramms für Infra­­struk­tur­­­pro­­­­jekte ein Inves­ti­tions­vo­­lu­men von 157 Mil­­li­­­­arden US-Dollar zur Ver­­fü­­gung zu stellen.

143634_en-Kopie Bankgeschäfte-im-persönlichen-Kontakt-erledigen-kopieren-Kopie DB_Handelsraum6-kopieren-Kopie

Die permanente Anpassung der Infra­­strukturen an den tatsächlichen und künftigen Bedarf zählt zu den schwierigsten und dauerhaften Unterfangen einer Metropolregion. Denn die aus­­rei­­­­chende Verfügbarkeit moderner Infra­­­­struk­­­­­turen zählt per se zu den essen­­tiellen Wettbewerbsfaktoren einer Me­­tro­­­­­pol­­region. In der Alltagsrealität lässt sich jedoch feststellen, dass Stadt­­pla­­­nung durch ihre niedrigere Umset­­zungs­­­­­ge­schwin­digkeit dem tatsächlichen Be­­­­darf fast zwangsläufig hinterherlaufen muss. In vielen Regionen kann die Rea­­­­lisierung von Infra­­struk­tur­­maß­nah­men auch bei bester Planung nicht mit dem ansteigenden Bevöl­­ke­rungswachstum Schritt halten. Unab­­hängig davon, wie umfangreich der je­­weilige langfristige Infrastruktur- und Investitionsbedarf er­­­­scheint, die notwendigen Anpas­sun­­gen sind meist nur mit recht hohen Zeit­ver­­­­zögerungen bei gleich­­­­zeitig sehr hohen Kosten zu realisieren.

Diesem Umstand ist es auch zu verdanken, dass sich Politik und Planer häufig notgedrungen eher auf die kurzfristige Beseitigung von Infrastruktur­eng­päs­sen konzentrieren. Mit der Folge, dass keine Vernetzung innerhalb der Projekte er­­folgt und sie völlig unabhängig voneinander und ohne Bezug zu ihrer Be­­deu­­tung für die Metropolregion angegangen werden. Die zeitliche Dimen­­sion, die hohen Kos­­ten sowie die Kom­­plexität langfristiger stra­­tegischer Stadt­­ent­­wick­­lung, ebenso die vermeintlich güns­­ti­­gere politische Wahr­­neh­­mung von kurz­­­­fristigen Erfolgen, lassen diese Prio­­­­­­ri­­­­tätensetzung nachvollzieh­­bar er­­schei­­­­nen. Langfristig wirkt sich diese Ent­­wick­­lung jedoch schädlich für eine Region aus.

Als Konsequenz müssen nämlich zu­­neh­­mend Beeinträchtigungen wie zum Bei­­­­spiel Verkehrsstaus, Einschrän­kun­gen in der Energieversorgung, teurer Wohn­raum, Umweltbeeinträchtigungen bis hin zu fehlenden Schulen und Kinder­be­­treu­­­ungs­­angeboten in Kauf genommen wer­­den. In zentralistisch struktu­rierten Metro­­­­­­polregionen verstärkt sich dieses Pro­­blem durch den Mangel an Aus­gleichs­­flächen und die eingeschränkten Mög­lich­­keiten weiterer Verdichtung. Der Druck auf die Kernstadt nimmt stetig zu, ab­­ge­­­­bildet beispielsweise durch hohe Mie­­ten oder hohe Mobilitäts- und Infra­struk­­tur­­kosten. Dies führt wiederum dazu, dass insgesamt Wachs­­tumschancen nicht ge­­nutzt werden können, Dynamik ausgebremst wird und die Metropolregion lang­­fristig an Wettbewerbsfähigkeit einbüßt.


256987-Kopie 2012_Suzuki_Splash_Facelift_Still_02-Kopie

In polyzentrischen Strukturen können diese Effekte deutlich besser abgefe­­dert werden, da die angesprochenen Problem­­­­felder weniger ausgeprägt auftreten und auf einer kleinteiligeren, lokalen Ebene gelöst werden. Die polyzentrische Struk­­­­tur ermöglicht es auch kleineren Zen­­tren, eigene Anziehungs­­kräfte zu entwickeln. Je stärker sich ein Sub-Zentrum auf spezi­­fische The­­men­­cluster konzentriert und dieses stellvertretend für die gesamte Metro­­polregion übernimmt und reprä­­sen­­tiert, desto stärker bilden sich eben diese Anziehungskräfte heraus.

Die polyzentrische Europäische Met­­ro­pol­­­­region Frankfurt RheinMain ist in die­sem Kontext bereits sehr gut auf­­ge­­stellt. Die Cluster Automation und Mate­­rial­tech­­nik haben einen klaren Schwer­­punkt in der Region Hanau. Darm­­stadt hat seine Stär­­ken im Bereich Wissen­­schaft, Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik und IT. Als Landes­­hauptstadt bildet Wies­­baden den politischen Kern der Region und verfügt zudem im Bereich Wirt­­schaft – ebenso wie die Stadt Bad Homburg – über ein starkes Profil im Bereich Consulting und in der Gesund­­heitswirtschaft. Die Stadt Frankfurt ist als internationale Metro­­pole im Bereich der Finanzwirtschaft, der Mobi­­­lität und als Messedestination positioniert. Ge­­meinsam verbindet die Region Themen wie eine hohe Lebens­­qualität, Inter­­na­tio­­nalität, einen hohen Lebens­stan­dard, kurze Wege sowie ein vielfältiges und hochwertiges Kultur- und Freizeit­an­ge­bot. Die Metropolregion Frankfurt RheinMain bietet daher den Vor­­teil, nicht ausschließ­­lich auf ein Zen­­­­trum ausgerichtet zu sein, sondern über viele zusätzliche Sub-Zentren zu ver­­fügen, die jeweils eigene starke Eigen­­profile vorwei­­sen. Die größte Heraus­­for­­derung in Regi­­onen wie Frankfurt Rhein­Main liegt je­­doch in der Gestal­­tung von effizienten Steue­­rungs­ein­hei­ten, die die Lang­fris­­­tig­­keit und Kom­ple­xität von Ent­­schei­­dungs­pro­­zes­­sen reduzieren. Dazu be­­darf es einer sehr hohen Transparenz innerhalb der Part­­ner, eines vertrauens­vollen, auch über­­par­­teilichen Mitei­nan­ders und einer engen inhaltliche nund thematischen Ver­­knüp­­fung und Abstim­mung. Ganz besondere Be­­deutung erhält hier­­bei das Thema Wis­­sensmanagement. Innerhalb einer Metro­­­­polregion müssen die Partner über alle relevanten Infor­­mationen verfügen können und die Mög­­lichkeit er­­halten, sich in die Pla­­nung und Durch­führung von Projekten aktiv einzubringen. Es muss zudem möglich sein, eigene Pro­­jekt­­vor­­schläge zu verfassen und regionale The­­men zu adres­­sieren und zu kommentieren. Es bedarf also eines „Smart-Grids“ für die Region, eines intelligenten Wis­­sens- und Kom­­mu­­nikationsnetzwerkes mit einem ge­­mein­­samen „Betriebs­sys­tem“ in Form einer einheitlichen Stra­te­gie sowie der Fest­­legung von Schwer­punkt­themen, In­­hal­­ten und Initiativen. Die Wett­­­be­­werbs­­vor­­teile ergeben sich in diesem Modell durch den Grad an Ver­­netzung innerhalb der Metropol­re­gion und die intel­­ligente Nut­­zung des Netz­­­­werkes.

Aus dem durch die Wirtschaftsinitiative FrankfurtRheinMain eingeleiteten regio­­na­­len Strategieprozess „Themenwelt“ wur­­­­­­­­­den gezielt solche Vernetzungs­pro­jekte eingeleitet. Hervorzuheben sind hier­­bei insbesondere die Cluster­ini­tia­ti­­ven House of Logistics & Mobility (HOLM), das House of IT (HIT) sowie die Initiative House of Pharma. Inner­halb dieser Kom­­­­petenz­­zen­­­­tren sollen künftig Wirtschaft, Wissen­­schaft und Politik ihre Projekte und Ini­­tia­­tiven bündeln sowie Lehre und Spitzen­­forschung angeboten werden. Diese bisher einzig­­artige Bündelung von Know-how und Ex­­pertise in einem Netz­­werk kann und soll dafür sorgen, dass Frankfurt ­­RheinMain in den genannten Be­­reichen überregional Aufmerksamkeit auf sich zieht und internationale Rele­­vanz erfährt. Dies macht es wiederum attraktiv für Unternehmen, Akademiker, junge Talente und interna­­tionale Fach­­kräfte, sich in der Region Frankfurt ­­Rhein­­­­Main anzusiedeln und sich diesen Netz­­werken anzuschließen.

Der wesentliche strategische Wettbe­werbs­­­­­vorteil der polyzentrischen Metro­­­pol­­­region Frankfurt RheinMain liegt da­­her eindeutig im Bereich der Wissens­­­ver­­net­­zung. Hier muss die Region in Zu­­kunft eine Vorreiterrolle anstreben.