Anne Eberhard: It’s not all perfect in Berlin either. On the work of the Goethe-Institut in Afghanistan.

Tears are running down Farsad’s face. He calls despairingly for his brother before breaking down, exhausted. “Lights off,” sounds brightly from the background. And where a moment before there was concentrated silence, the applause of hundreds of people now thunders through the room. Farsad bows briefly and gives a shy smile. Scene change on the stage of the National Theatre in Afghanistan.

The Afghan National Theatre Festival, which was held for the seventh time in 2011, is without doubt one of the most significant projects which the Goethe-Institut has initiated and helped to organise in Afghanistan since its reopening in 2003 – after twelve years of closure and as the first cultural institution to return. Today, the Film Festival and National Literature Forum also offer unique platforms for exchange between creative artists from all provinces, who meet regularly, not only in Kabul.

The reconstruction of state structures has been and remains an important step towards a working civil society. In this, it is not culture as an economic factor which is important, but above all the opportunity for different sections of the population to engage in culture and to promote awareness of the common ground in Afghan culture, the importance of education and the involvement of women in public and economic life in schools, communities and public institutions.


An ever greater number of private initiatives by young and independent creative artists are springing up alongside the reconstructed, often stiff state organisations. These hold great potential to have a positive impact on the art and culture scene and to continue to build it up. Female and male poets and authors meet at literature circles in their living rooms, print their work themselves and are building up a network across province borders. Students at the Faculty of Fine Art are trying to set up theatre groups and artists’ groups.

Without the funding available to the Goethe-Institut Afghanistan – not least thanks to the special funding from the Afghanistan Stability Pact – these im­­portant activities in cultural and education policy would not be possible. It costs money to connect actors from provinces who can often only travel by aeroplane, since the land routes are still too unsafe. However, the fact that theatre groups from Kandahar in the South, Herat in the West, Balkh in the North and Nangahar in the East, with their various dialects, languages and traditions, were all able to come togeth­er and exchange ideas in Kabul in 2011, despite the often tense security situation, is priceless, and also impossible to measure against the usual benchmarks of development cooperation.

Unfortunately, the (re)construction of cultural institutions by sometimes uncritical donors and the massive financial support in many areas have promoted a taker mentality and a sense of expectation, which often works against a hand­­over of cultural work to Afghan institutions. Long-­term networking and consultancy pro­gram­­mes between German and Afghan cultural institutions could promote a more effective creative and eco­­nomic attitude towards the institutions and actors.

IMG_0766-Kopie

The art and cultural scene which grew up after the Second World War, at least in Kabul and other urban centres, was already suppressed at the start of the civil war and met a sudden end under the Taliban, or could only be continued under the most difficult of conditions. The rescue of the Afghan film archive, achieved by building false walls in the premises of the production company, whose films were shown in the then 17 cinemas in Kabul, has been widely reported in the German media. How­­ever, it is little known that the theatre de­­partment of the Kabul University was never formally closed, despite extreme difficulties. Many Afghan intellectuals and artists had already left the country by then and were trying to continue their work in exile. One of the first significant Afghan cultural magazines, Sapeda, was founded in Peshawar, Pakistan. One of the Goethe-Institut’s new long-term projects is to resurrect this magazine as a national platform for art and culture.
DSC_0170-Kopie
One of the reasons why the Goethe-Institut Afghanistan, officially founded in 1965, enjoys such a good reputation is that the individual projects are always implemented in partnership with domestic institutions and initiatives. Providing inspiration and creating sustainability in a country which is itself still working on defining itself culturally in some areas, and doing so with confidence, is much more important than staidly presenting cultural artefacts from far-off Germany.

The search for an Afghan pop idol, much hyped in the media and lacking nothing compared to its Western counterparts, is just part of today’s culture. The internal Afghan debate about the definition of their own values and traditions and the question of what “Afghan culture” actually means are just as important. This kind of self-determined discussion can give rise to crucial inspiration for the development of Afghan society in terms of culture and education policy; customised education programmes and free economic enterprise are particularly dependent on players being able to develop their own intellectual space.

One example of how new ideas can come about from a collaborative approach is the Berlin puppeteer Wieland Jagodzinski, who gave the first of his many puppet workshops in Afghanistan during the fourth Theatre Festival in 2007 and thus in­­­spired ten young actors to ask the Goethe-Institut for support in founding their own theatre group. With these specialist and organisational qualifi­cations, the Parwaz Puppet Theatre is now itself training a new group in Northern Afghanistan for the Goethe-Institut – and is playing to thousands of Afghan children on behalf of large international institutions.

IMG_9496-Kopie

The university education system has seen development in recent years with regard to infrastructure in particular. Despite the on­­going difficulties in the education sector in terms of content and concepts, the young generation’s appetite for learning is driving development forwards. They want more liberalisation and improvement in the living situation in Afghanistan and are willing to fight for it.

Interest in the German language has continued unabated in Afghanistan; German teaching at universities outside Kabul has been expanded further since 2011. The Goethe-Institut will continue to support this pro­­cess both technically and in terms of content, and promotes further training in the language and in methods and didactics for prospective and current German teachers.

Mehdi is still at school, but has been coming to the Goethe-Institut regularly for years. He wants to study architecture so that he can help to rebuild his home town of Kabul. If possible, he’d like to take a semester abroad in Germany. Because he enjoys German lessons so much, he has first applied for the Institut’s internal training programme for German teachers. Many of the course participants at the Goethe-Institut, which is one of the largest institutes in the region with up to 1,500 registrations per year, are learning German for practical reasons. They hope to gain opportunities for one of the well-paid jobs in the projects run by German development institutions – or the chance of a scholarship for a university in Germany.

For them, the Goethe-Institut in Kabul is a first important window into Germany. Alongside the small media library with its teaching materials and cultural items, the garden is one of the most popular parts of the Institut. As well as film and music evenings, breaks are extremely popular, giving the young course participants a little piece of the freedom they have to fight so hard for elsewhere.

Returning from a four-week language course scholarship, Mehdi was often asked if he wouldn’t have preferred to stay in Germany. “You know, I never would have thought it, but it’s not all beautiful and perfect in Berlin either,” he replies thoughtfully. Young people like him will be able to bring about real change in Afghanistan, if we let them.

AnneEberhard-KopieThe author (born in 1979) came to the Goethe-Institut after completing her degree in Oriental Studies and has led the Goethe-Institut Afghanistan in Kabul since 2010.

Anne Eberhard: In Berlin ist auch nicht alles schön. Zur Arbeit des Goethe-Instituts in Afghanistan.

Farsad laufen die Tränen über das Gesicht. Verzweifelt ruft er nach seinem Bruder, bevor er erschöpft zusammenbricht. „Licht aus“, tönt es energisch aus dem Hinter­­grund. Und wo eben noch konzentrierte Stille herrschte, brandet nun der Applaus hunderter Hände auf. Farsad verbeugt sich kurz und lächelt schüchtern. Szenen­­wechsel auf der Bühne des National­­thea­­ters in Afghanistan.

Das Nationale Afghanische Theaterfestival, das 2011 bereits zum siebten Mal statt­­fand, gehört zweifelsohne zu den bedeutsamsten Projekten, die das Goethe-­­Insti­­tut seit seiner Wiedereröffnung im Jahr 2003 – nach zwölfjähriger Schließung und als erstes Kulturinstitut überhaupt zurückgekehrt – in Afghanistan initiiert und mitorganisiert hat. Auch das Film­­festival und vor allem auch das Nationale Literaturforum bieten heute einzigartige Plattformen für den Austausch zwischen Kulturschaffenden aus allen Provinzen, die so regelmäßig und nicht immer nur in Kabul zusammenkommen.

Der Wiederaufbau staatlicher Strukturen war und ist ein wichtiger Schritt hin zu einer funktionierenden Zivilgesellschaft. Dabei ist nicht der Wirtschaftsfaktor von Kultur entscheidend, sondern vor allem die Möglichkeit der kulturellen Teilhabe unterschiedlicher Bevölkerungs­gruppen und die Möglichkeit, in Schulen, Gemeinden und öffentlichen Institutionen ein Bewusst­­sein für die Gemeinsamkeit der afghanischen Kultur, für die Bedeutung von Bildung oder für die Beteiligung der Frauen am öffentlichen und wirtschaft­­lichen Leben zu fördern.


Neben den wieder aufgebauten, oftmals starren staatlichen Organisationen formieren sich immer zahlreichere private Initiativen junger und unabhängiger Kultur­­schaffender. Diese bringen das größte Potenzial mit, die Kunst- und Kulturszene positiv zu beeinflussen und weiter auszu­­bauen. Poetinnen und Schriftsteller treffen sich in ihren Wohnzimmern zu Literatur­­zirkeln, drucken in Eigeninitiative ihre Werke und vernetzen sich über die Provinz­­grenzen hinweg. Die Studierenden der Fakultät der schönen Künste versuchen sich in der Gründung von Theater­gruppen und Künstlervereinigungen.

Ohne die finanziellen Mittel, die dem Goethe-Institut Afghanistan – auch dank der Sondermittel des Stabilitätspaktes Afghanistan – zur Verfügung stehen, wären viele der wichtigen Aktivitäten der Außen­­kultur- und Bildungspolitik nicht denkbar. Akteure aus Provinzen zu vernetzen, die oftmals nur mit dem Flugzeug kommen können, weil die Landwege noch zu unsicher sind, kostet. Dass trotz der zum Teil noch angespannten Sicherheitslage Theater­­­­gruppen aus Kandahar im Süden, Herat im Westen, Balkh im Norden und Nangahar im Osten mit ihren unter­schied­­lichen Dia­­lekten, Sprachen und Tradi­tionen im Jahr 2011 in Kabul zusammen­­treffen und sich untereinander austauschen konnten, ist hingegen unbezahlbar. Und mit den gängigen Maßstäben der Ent­wick­­­lungs­zusammenarbeit auch nicht messbar.

Leider haben der von der internationalen Gemeinschaft unterstützte (Wieder-)Auf­­bau der Kultureinrichtungen durch zum Teil unkritische Geber und die massive finanzielle Unterstützung vielerorts auch eine Nehmermentalität und Erwartungs­­haltung gefördert, die der Übergabe der Kulturarbeit an afghanische Institutionen nicht selten entgegensteht. Hier könnten langfristig ausgelegte Vernetzungs- und Beratungsprogramme zwischen deutschen und afghanischen Kulturinstitutionen eine künstlerische und auch wirtschaftlich wirk­samere Haltung der Institutionen und Akteure fördern.

IMG_0766-Kopie

Die nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg zumindest in Kabul und den urbanen Zentren entstandene Kunst- und Kulturszene wurde mit dem Beginn des Bürgerkriegs bereits unterdrückt und fand ihr jähes Ende unter den Taliban oder konnte nur unter schwierigsten Bedingungen fortgeführt werden. Die durch den Einbau doppelter Wände in den Räumen der Pro­duktionsfirma vollführte Rettung des afghanischen Spielfilmarchivs, dessen Filme in den einst 17 Kinos von Kabul gezeigt wurden, ist wiederholt in deutschen Medien geschildert worden. Dass aber die Theaterabteilung der Universität Kabul trotz extremer Schwierigkeiten nie formal geschlossen wurde, ist hingegen nur wenigen bekannt. Viele afghanische Intellektuelle und Künstler hatten zu diesem Zeitpunkt ihr Land indes bereits ver­­­lassen und ihre Arbeit im Exil fortzu­­setzen versucht. So wurde im pakistanischen Peshawar mit der Literaturzeit­schrift Sapeda eine der ersten wichtigen afghanischen Kulturzeitschriften gegründet. Diese Zeitschrift als nationale Plattform für Kunst und Kultur wieder aufleben zu lassen, ist eines der neuen und langfristigen Projekte des Goethe-Instituts.
DSC_0170-Kopie
Die Arbeit des Goethe-Instituts Afghanistan, das 1965 offiziell gegründet wurde, genießt auch deshalb ein hohes Ansehen, weil die einzelnen Projekte immer auch und vor allem in Partnerschaft mit einheimischen Institutionen und Initiativen geschehen. Impulse zu setzen und Nachhaltigkeit zu erzeugen in einem Land, das selbst noch dabei ist, sich in einigen Bereichen kulturell zu definieren und dieses durchaus selbstbewusst tut, ist weitaus wichtiger als die gediegene Repräsentation von kultu­­rellen Erzeugnissen aus dem fernen Deutschland.

Die medial bestens aufbereitete, ihren westlichen Vorbildern in nichts nachstehende Suche nach dem Afghan Superstar ist eben nur ein Teil der heutigen Kultur. Ebenso wichtig ist der innerafghanische Diskurs über die Definition eigener Werte und Traditionen und die Frage, was „afgha­­ni­­sche Kultur“ eigentlich ist. Aus einer solcherart selbstbestimmten Diskussion können entscheidende Impulse für die kulturelle und bildungspolitische Entwick­lung der afghanischen Gesellschaft er­­­­­­­­­­wach­­­sen; gerade angepasste Bildungs­pro­gram­­me und wirtschaftliches Unter­­­nehmer­­­tum hängen vom selbstständig erarbeiteten geistigen Freiraum der Ak­teure unmittelbar ab.

Wie so gemeinsam Neues entstehen kann, zeigt das Beispiel des Berliner Puppen­s­­pielers Wieland Jagodzinski, der während des vierten Theaterfestivals 2007 seinen ersten von vielen Puppentheaterwork­shops in Afghanistan gab und damit zehn junge Schauspielerinnen und Schauspieler bewegte, das Goethe-Institut um Unter­­­stützung bei der Gründung ihrer eigenen Theatergruppe zu bitten. Fachlich und organisatorisch qualifiziert bildet das Parwaz Puppet Theatre mittlerweile für das Goethe-Institut selbst eine neu ent­­standene Gruppe in Nordafghanistan aus – und spielt im Auftrag großer internationaler Institutionen vor tausenden afgha­­nischer Kinder.

IMG_9496-Kopie

Vor allem in Hinblick auf die Infra­struktur hat sich das universitäre Bildungs­system in den letzten Jahren entwickelt. Trotz der fortdauernden inhaltlichen und konzeptio­nellen Schwierigkeiten im Bildungsbereich treibt der Bildungshunger der jungen Gene­­ration die Entwicklung weiter voran, weil sie sich eine weitere Liberalisierung und Verbesserung der Lebenssituation in Afghanistan wünscht und dafür so weit wie möglich eintritt.

Das Interesse an der deutschen Sprache ist in Afghanistan ungebrochen; seit 2011 wird der Deutschunterricht an den Uni­versi­­tätsstandorten außerhalb Kabuls noch weiter ausgebaut. Das Goethe-Institut wird diesen Prozess weiterhin technisch und inhaltlich unterstützen und fördert die sprachliche und methodisch-didaktische Fortbildung angehender und bereits tätiger Deutschlehrkräfte.

Mehdi ist noch Schüler, aber seit Jahren regelmäßig im Goethe-Institut. Architektur möchte er studieren, weil er seine Heimat­­stadt Kabul wieder aufbauen will. Wenn möglich, auch mit einem Auslands­­­semester in Deutschland. Aber weil ihm der Deutschunterricht so viel Spaß macht, hat er sich erst einmal für das instituts­interne Ausbildungsprogramm für Deutsch­­lehrer beworben. Viele der Kursteilnehmer im Goethe-Institut, das mit bis zu 1.500 Einschreibungen jährlich zu den größeren Instituten der Region gehört, lernen Deutsch aus praktischen Gründen. Sie erhoffen sich Chancen auf einen der gut bezahlten Jobs in den Projekten deutscher Entwicklungshilfeinstitutionen – oder die Möglichkeit eines Stipendiums für ein Studium in Deutschland.

Das Goethe-Institut in Kabul ist für sie ein erstes wichtiges Fenster nach Deutsch­­land. Neben der kleinen Mediothek mit ihren Lehrmaterialien und landeskundlichen Beständen gehört insbesondere der Garten zu den bevorzugten Orten des Instituts. Neben Film- und Musik­abenden sind vor allem die Pausenzeiten äußerst beliebt, die den jungen Kursteilnehme­r­innen und Kursteilnehmern ein kleines Stück Freiheit schenken, das sie sich woanders erst hart erkämpfen müssen.

Ob er denn überhaupt wieder zurück wollte aus Deutschland, wurde Mehdi nach seiner Rückkehr von einem vierwöchigen Sprachkursstipendium von vielen gefragt. „Wissen Sie, ich hätte es nicht gedacht, aber auch in Berlin ist ja gar nicht alles nur gut und schön“, entgegnete er nachdenklich. Junge Men­­­­­schen wie er werden in Afghanistan sicher noch einiges bewegen können, wenn man sie lässt.

AnneEberhard-KopieDie Autorin (Jahrgang 1979) kam nach ihrem Studium der Orientalistik zum Goethe-Institut und leitet seit 2010 das Goethe-Institut Afghanistan in Kabul.