Ann Dargies: Experiencing theatre

When we talk about independent theatre, we mean pro­­fessional theatres that are neither state or city nor private theatres. These are projects and ensembles from a large range of genres, including, but not limited to, straight theatre or musicals, dance and performance, as well as object and puppet theatre. Some groups keep their own playhouses, others migrate from one location to the next.

Theater-Transit_2-alte-Frauchen_3

Freie Szene Darmstadt is an association of more than 30 Darmstadt drama groups and individual artists who jointly use the Moller Haus theatre. Theatre makers who feel a connection with the independent theatre scene and whose work is centred in Darmstadt may join the association. In addition to representing their interests, the support asso­­ciation offers its members a platform for artistic ex­­change and cooperation. Another one of the asso­­ciation’s tasks consists in organising the independent theatre scene. The goal is to stimulate and promote Darmstadt’s theatrical landscape. The base of the Moller Haus theatre consists of the independent drama groups and their projects, productions and constructive colla­­bo­­ration on the one hand and an active executive board as well as full-time employees on the other hand.

The association has been operating the Moller Haus theatre as the playhouse of the independent scene since 1998. The groups performing here are predominantly professional theatre makers, whose work is of a high ar­­tis­­tic level. In accordance with its particular organizational form, the Moller Haus theatre presents a variety of en­­sem­­bles, who provide the public with a diverse programme.


Michael-Ihringer_Fraeuleinwunder_sw

The programme’s focus is on children’s and youth theatre, whose target audience consists of three- to 18-year-olds and their families as well as children’s facilities and schools. Further pillars of the association in­­clude: aesthetic education, theatrical educa­­tion, adult theatre, minor arts, and dance.

The Moller Haus theatre has become a meeting place for theatre makers and enthusiasts. The bar and cosy lobby are places for not only the artists to meet but also the visitors to get in the mood for the performance or let the evening wind down.

Ann-DargiesAnn Dargies chairs Freie Szene Darmstadt e.V. and the Moller Haus theatre. She is a drama instructor, actress, clown, stage director, theatre teacher and acrobat. She manages Theater Transit and is active at the clown and ensemble theatre school “Schule für Clown und Ensemble­theater”. The author is also a drama lecturer at the Lingen Institute for Theatrical Education of the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences. She is active as a consultant for clown, drama and theatre education for various clients in Germany, Austria and Italy.

Ann Dargies: Erlebnis Theater

Wenn wir von freiem Theater sprechen, meinen wir professionelles Theater, jenseits von Staats- und Stadt­theater, jenseits von privaten Schauspielhäusern. Es geht um Projekte und Ensembles aus den unterschied­lichs­­ten Sparten wie Sprech- oder Musiktheater, Tanz und Performance, Objekt- und Figurentheater und darüberhinaus zahlreiche weitere Variationen. Manche Gruppen unterhalten eine eigene Spielstätte, andere ziehen von einem Spielort zum nächsten.

Theater-Transit_2-alte-Frauchen_3

Der Verein Freie Szene Darmstadt schließt sich zusammen aus über 30 Darmstädter Theatergruppen und Einzel­künstlern, die das Theater Moller Haus als ge­­mein­­same Spielstätte nutzen. Mitglied im Verein können Theater­­schaffende werden, die sich der freien Theater­­szene verbunden fühlen und ihren Arbeits­schwerpunkt in Darmstadt haben. Der Trägerverein bietet über die Interessenvertretung seiner Mitglieder hinaus eine Platt­­form für künstlerischen Austausch und Koope­ra­tion. Eine weitere Aufgabe des Vereins besteht in der Organisation der freien Theaterszene. Ziel ist es, die Theaterlandschaft in Darmstadt zu beleben und zu fördern. Das Fundament des Theater Moller Hauses bilden zum einen die freien Theatergruppen durch ihre Projekte, Inszenierungen und konstruktive Zusammen­­arbeit zum anderen ein aktiver Vorstand sowie die hauptamtlichen MitarbeiterInnen.

Seit dem Jahr 1998 betreibt der Verein das Theater Moller Haus als Spielort der Freien Szene. Der überwie­­gende Teil der Gruppen, die im Haus spielen, sind pro­­fes­­sionelle Theaterschaffende, die auf hohem künstlerischem Niveau arbeiten. Entsprechend seiner besonderen Organi­sa­tions­­form spielen im Theater Moller Haus unterschiedliche Ensembles, die dem Publikum ein vielfältiges Programm präsentieren.


Michael-Ihringer_Fraeuleinwunder_sw

Den Programm­schwer­punkt bildet das Kinder- und Jugendtheater, zu dessen Zielgruppe Menschen von drei bis 18 Jahren, ihre Familien sowie Kindereinrich­tungen und Schulen gehören. Weitere tragende Säulen des Vereins sind: Ästhetische Bildung, Theaterpädagogik, Erwachsenentheater, Kleinkunst sowie Tanz.

Das Theater Moller Haus hat sich zu einem Ort der Begegnung für Theaterschaffende und Interessierte ent­­wickelt. In der Bar und dem gemütlichen Foyer treffen sich nicht nur die Künstler; auch die Gäste können sich vor der Vorstellung ge­­mein­­sam auf das Stück einstimmen oder den Abend zusammen ausklingen lassen.

Ann-DargiesAnn Dargies ist Vorstand der Freien Szene Darmstadt e.V. und des Theaters Moller Haus. Sie ist Schauspiellehrerin, Schauspielerin, Clownin, Regisseurin, Theaterpädagogin sowie Projektakrobatin. Sie ist als Leiterin des Theaters Transit und der Schule für Clown und Ensembletheater tätig. Außerdem arbeitet die Autorin als Dozentin für Schauspiel am Institut für Theater­­pädagogik Lingen an der Fachhochschule Osnabrück. Sie wirkt als Referentin für Clown und für Schauspiel und Theaterpädagogik bei unterschiedlichen Auftraggebern in Deutschland, Österreich und Italien.