Anja Schué: Optical microscopes reveal the nano-world

When Ernst Leitz took over Carl Kellner’s Optical Institute in Wetzlar in 1869, it never occurred to anybody to use optical microscopes to look at small structures measuring a few nanometres. After physi­­cist Ernst Abbe had developed the fun­damentals and the theory of modern optics in 1873 that the maximum micro­­scopic resolution was limited to about half the length of light waves, or 200 to 350 nanometres, this limit was considered to be permanent – up to a few years ago.

Thinking out of the box. Physics professor Stefan Hell achieved the crucial breakthrough in the early 1990s. Hell, today professor of physics at the Max Planck Institute in Göttingen and head of the Department of Nano-Bio-Photonics, discovered fluorescent microscopes, which completely turned conventional doctrine on its head by achieving optical resolution far below 100 nanometres.

1_STED_process
STED technology, invented by Hell, makes it possible to look deep into the nano-cos­­mos. The STED mi­­cro­­scope makes it possible to dis­­tinguish smaller details of up to 50 nano­­metres.
The phys­­ical approach of this new kind of fluorescence process is called “STimulated Emission De­­ple­­tion”, for which Hell was awarded the German Future Award in November 2006. Addi­tional, ring-shaped points of light prevent individual fluorescent dots from fluorescing at the edges. The re­­maining points of light can be reduced in size to the point where remote struc­­tures can be shown a few nanometres apart. To­­day, STED microscopes manu­factured and sold by Leica Microsystems on an exclusiv­e licence basis are used in top research centres for purposes such as investigating mo­­le­­cular structures with­­in cells or signal transmission processes be­­tween nerve cells. Being able to ob­­serve how proteins and molec­­ular com­­plexes move, function and interact with­­in cells helps science to understand how diseases develop and can be treated.

Sted-Bild-Internet

Combined precision. In the field of nano­­­­technology, confocal ­microscopy and interferometry have since been combined in a single sensor head for industrial uses. The dual-core Leica DCM 3D measuring microscope is bas­­­ed on a fast-reaction micro-display posi­­tioned in the luminous-field dia­­phragm. Luminous-field, inter­fe­ro­­metry and con­­focal images can be generated via the micro-display. The combination of the confocal micro-dis­­play, two light sources and two cameras generates high-resolution 3D meas­­ure­­­­­­­ments and un­­lim­­ited depth of focus. Both rough and smooth surfaces and edges of up to 70 degrees can be re­­cord­­ed within seconds. At the same time, dif­­fe­­rences in height of a few nano­­metres up to several milli­metres can also be measured. The 3D microscope is used for a wide range of meas­­uring tasks in research and develop­­ment, in quality assurance laboratories and auto­­mated online process con­­trols re­­quiring high speeds and resolutions of up to 0.1 nano­metres.

Anja_SchueThe author is a graduate in ecotrophology and a state certified communications specialist. She specializes in medicine, business, services and technology. Anja Schué has been technology and appli­ca­­tions editor at Leica Microsystems with responsibility for production of the reSOLUTION customer magazine and pub­­lications in trade magazines since 2006.

Anja Schué: Lichtmikroskope erschließen die Nanowelt

Als Ernst Leitz 1869 das optische Institut von Carl Kellner in Wetzlar übernahm, dachte noch niemand daran, mit Licht­­mikros­kopen wenige Nanometer kleine Strukturen zu betrachten. Nachdem der Physiker Ernst Abbe 1873 die Grund­­lagen der moder­­nen Optik und die Theorie formu­liert hatte, dass die maximale mikrosko­pische Auf­­lösung auf etwa die halbe Lichtwellenlänge, also auf 200 bis 350 Nanometer, be­­grenzt sei, galt diese Grenze als unumstößlich. Bis vor wenigen Jahren.
Über die Grenze hinaus gedacht. Der entscheidende Durchbruch gelang dem Physiker Professor Stefan Hell Anfang der 1990er Jahre. Hell, heute Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut Göttingen und Leiter der Abteilung für NanoBiophotonik, er­­fand Fluoreszenzmikroskope, die die gängige Lehrmeinung gründlich auf den Kopf stell­­ten. Sie erlauben optische Auf­­lösungen weit unter 100 Nanometer. Tiefe Ein­bli­­cke in den Nanokos­­mos ermöglicht die von Hell erfundene STED-Technologie.

1_STED_process
Mit dem STED-Mikroskop können bereits bis zu 50 Nano­­meter kleine Details auf­­gelöst werden. „STimulated Emission De­­ple­­tion“ bezeichnet den physikalischen Ansatz dieses neuartigen Fluores­­zenz­­ver­­­­fah­rens, wofür Hell im November 2006 mit dem Deutschen Zukunftspreis ausgezeichnet wurde. Einzelne fokussierte Fluores­­zenz­­punkte werden in ihren Rand­­bereichen durch zusätzliches ring­­förmi­ges Licht am Fluoreszieren gehindert. Die ver­blei­­benden Licht­­punkte können so weit verkleinert werden, dass wenige Nano­meter voneinander entfernte Struk­­­­turen ge­­trennt darstellbar werden. STED-Mikros­­kope, die das Unternehmen in Exklusiv­­li­­zenz herstellt und vertreibt, sind heute in hoch­­karätigen Forschungs­­ein­­rich­­tun­­gen im Einsatz, beispielsweise um moleku­lare Struk­­turen innerhalb der Zelle oder Pro­­zesse der Signal­­über­­tra­­gung zwischen Nerven­­zellen zu untersuchen. Zu beo­bach­ten, wie Pro­­teine und mole­­ku­­lare Kom­plexe sich in der Zelle be­­we­­gen, funktionieren und zu­­sam­­men­­wirken, hilft der Wis­­sen­­­­schaft zu verstehen, wie Krank­­hei­­ten entstehen und behandelt werden können.

Sted-Bild-Internet

Kombinierte Präzision. Für industrielle Anwendungen im Nano­bereich wurden inzwischen die Konfo­kal­mikroskopie und die Interferometrie in einem einzigen Sensor­­kopf kombiniert. Das Dual-Core 3D-Messmikroskop Leica DCM 3D ba­­siert auf einem schnell rea­gie­ren­­den Mikro­­dis­­play, das in der Leucht­feld­­blende positioniert ist. Über das Mikrodisplay können Hellfeld-, In­­ter­fe­ro­­metrie- und Konfo­­kalbilder er­­zeugt werden. Die Kom­­­­bi­­na­­tion aus konfokalem Mikro­­dis­­play, zwei Lichtquellen und zwei Kameras er­zeugt hochpräzise 3D-Mes­sun­­gen und unbegrenzte Tiefen­schärfe. Inner­­halb von Sekun­­den werden glatte sowie raue Ober­­flächen und Flan­­ken bis zu 70 Grad erfasst. Dabei können Höhen­­unter­­schiede von wenigen Nano­metern bis zu mehreren Milli­me­tern ge­­messen werden. Das 3D-Mess­mikros­kop wird für vielfäl­tige Mess­an­wendungen in For­­schung und Entwicklung sowie in Quali­täts­siche­­­rungs­­labors bis hin zu auto­ma­ti­sier­ten Online-Prozess­­kon­­trollen eingesetzt, bei denen hohe Geschwin­dig­­keiten und Auf­­­lö­­sun­gen bis 0,1 Nano­meter erforder­­lich sind.

Anja_SchueDie Autorin ist Diplom-Oecotrophologin und staatlich geprüfte Kommunikations­­fachfrau. Medi­zin, Wirtschaft, Dienst­­leis­­­­tungen und Technik sind ihre Fach­­ge­­biete. Seit 2006 ist Anja Schué als Redakteurin für Technologie und Appli­kationen bei Leica Microsystems tätig und für die Erstellung des Kunden­magazins reSOLUTION und Veröffent­li­chungen in Fachmagazinen verantwortlich.