Andreas Bausewein: Erfurt – A political and economic centre

altstadt_nuernberg-luftbild_hajo-dietz

The vibrant development of Thuringia’s capital can be seen in many areas. Erfurt is growing, both in terms of the number of residents and its economy. New companies are settling here and creating jobs. Over 10,000 young people are studying at the university and university of applied science and are livening up the city with their creative ideas. In 2017 Erfurt will become one of German Rail’s most important rail hubs. Both its ICE City – currently being built around the central station – and the 2021 National Garden Show are considered to have the greatest potential for the city’s development. Both projects are intended to continue this positive development over the long term.

A favourable location and accessibility are two factors from which Erfurt is benefiting considerably. Situated at the intersection of two former trading routes, this has had a positive influence on the city of Erfurt since time immemorial. Today, the transport infrastructure in and around the state capital of Thuringia is in outstanding condition and ensures that Erfurt is accessible quickly and easily, whether via the ICE railway station, the excellent autobahn links or the international commercial airport.

Erfurt has had a new high-speed railway line to Berlin, which has formed a major part of the “Verkehrsprojekt Deutsche Einheit 8” since December 2015; this will be extended to Munich in 2017. Shorter travelling times and optimally-coordinated timetables will make Erfurt even more attractive as a location for meetings, conference and key company services.

The quality of life in Erfurt has a magnetic effect. Whether one is a tourist, student, investor or resident, Erfurt captivates with Thuringian charm and cosmopolitan amiability. Erfurt is one of the few cities in Thuringia which is continually growing. Every year, over 10,000 – especially young – people choose Erfurt as the new central point of their lives. With its lively flair and confident, committed residents, Erfurt offers everything one could expect of a state capital: a charming and eventful past, beautiful architecture, a cultural scene which has grown over the centuries, a broad range of vocational and other educational opportunities, the latest sports facilities and – in particular – prospects for everyone who settles here.

ice_bahnhof_bahnhof_willy-brandt-platzmdr-funkhaus

Over 10,000 students are enrolled at the university and university of applied sciences. Together with the academic staff, they bring new ideas, student life, international links and enquiring minds to the city. Close links to research and development guarantee companies competitiveness on the domestic and international markets. Research centres in Erfurt shorten the transfer between science and commerce.

Directly adjacent to Erfurt’s Central Railway Station, a completely new city suburb in the form of the ICE City Erfurt, a modern location for working, living and holding conferences is being developed. Hotel and conference space, flexible office and industrial space, restaurants, leisure facilities, small shops, high-quality residential space and generous park and green areas are being constructed on a surface area equivalent to 30 football fields. This will enable ICE-City investors and project developers, who are all relying on optimal accessibility and an attractive environment, to offer first-class prospects.

A logistics centre in the heart of Europe. Rapid ICE links, the excellent connection with the autobahn network and the Erfurt-Weimar Airport ensure fast access to other points within Germany and Europe. At the “Erfurt Freight Centre”, or GVZ, a state-of-the-art railway freight terminal enables rapid and easy links between rail and road. Overall, more than 70 companies provide logistics services to their customers from Erfurt, from combining, storing, commissioning through to distribution of goods.

From microelectronics to a high-tech location. In the 20th century, Erfurt’s economic profile was defined by microelectronics. Even up to the present day, companies have developed which are successful in the fields of micro-technology, sensor technology and IT. Numerous high-tech firms are based in southeast Erfurt in particular. Erfurt relies on the technologies of the 21st century. Over the last few years, the Southeastern Erfurt Research and Industrial Centre (FIZ) has become a high-tech location and competence centre for microelectronics and microsystems technology. The industrial park is also home to the Microsystems Technology Application Centre which assists company start-ups and is the home base of two research centres: the IMMS and the CiS.

Erfurt is a young, innovative media location that enriches the media landscape by breaking new ground. For example, this is where the IOSONO sound system finds its way to the world. Media technology is also at home in Erfurt in the form of the Childrens’ Media Department at the Fraunhofer Institute for Digital Media Technology. Overall, childrens’ media have great potential and particularly special importance in Erfurt. The childrens’ channel KiKA, the Kinderkanal (Childrens’ Channel) in ARD and ZDF, the state broadcasting building of Mitteldeutsche Rundfunk (Central German Broadcasting Corporation / MDR) and the KinderMedienZentrum (Childrens’ Media Centre) Studio Park form the core of the industry in Erfurt. Many young companies, including those located outside the Centre, use this infrastructure – which is unique in Germany, in particular Kinderfilm GmbH, whose productions have won numerous awards.

messe-erfurt_erwiconblumenmarkt_016

Mechanical and plant engineering and horticulture are other sectors with a long tradition. Since the end of the 19th century, special machinery used to be manufactured in Erfurt; today, mainly presses, pumps and generators are made here. Trendsetters are Siemens AG’s generator plant and Schuler Pressen GmbH, one of the central production and servicing locations of the Schuler Group, which values the excellent infrastructure and which even functions as a training company and a reliable employer.

Commercial horticulture is deeply-rooted in Erfurt, an activity which has a history going back over 300 years. Mediaeval field cultivation was followed by cultivation and trading in flowers and vegetable seeds in the 19th century that made Erfurt world-famous as a garden city and which gave it the nickname “City of Flowers”. As part of the 2021 National Garden Show, Erfurt plans to connect with this tradition as a “Gardening Culture City”.

Multi-facetted tourism. Anyone who has visited Erfurt knows why tourism has become a major economic factor for the city. Visitors from all over the world have already become acquainted with it: their number has doubled to over 11 million guests a year over the last 15 years. The 809,300 overnight stays reached a new record in 2015 which has confirmed the positive development of the last few years. All in all, tourism as an economic factor guarantees and creates about 15,000 jobs.

In all of this, Erfurt impresses not only with its history and architecture – special mention should be made here of personalities such as Martin Luther, the city’s lively Jewish heritage and architectural eye-catchers such as the Krämerbrücke (Krämer Bridge). It also functions as a modern conference location. This branch of tourism is being further reinforced with the development of the ICE City and completion of the multi-purpose arena.

Erfurt is Thuringia’s economic and political centre. This is where the political fates of the Free State of Thuringia are guided. Its economy – made up of a range of industries – is broadly-based. Some 14,000 companies employ over 140,700 people. Erfurt is worth living in and, quite simply, is a nice place to be – a piece of news which has got around, which is why many young people are moving here. The city’s potential is immense. It is our chief concern to make use of this and further expand it.

ob_bausewein_bruehlAndreas Bausewein
Andreas Bausewein has been Lord Mayor of Erfurt since July 2006. He studies education and the University of Applied Sciences and the University of Erfurt. After working for several years as a lecturer/social worker at the Berufsfortbildungswerk at Tonna Prison and as a qualifications coordinator at the Thuringia branch of the DGB in Erfurt, he was elected to the Thuringian State Legislature in 2004 as a member of the Social Democratic Party.

Andreas Bausewein: Erfurt – Politisches und wirtschaftliches Zentrum

altstadt_nuernberg-luftbild_hajo-dietzDie dynamische Entwicklung der Thüringer Landeshauptstadt zeigt sich in vielen Bereichen: Erfurt wächst, sowohl in Bezug auf die Einwohner, als auch in Bezug auf die Wirtschaft. Neue Unternehmen siedeln sich an und schaffen Arbeitsplätze. An Universität und Fachhochschule studieren gut 10.000 junge Menschen und beleben die Stadt mit ihren kreativen Ideen. 2017 wird Erfurt zu einem der wichtigsten Knotenpunkte für die Deutsche Bahn. Als großes Potenzial für die Stadtentwicklung gilt nicht nur die rund um den Hauptbahnhof entstehende ICE-City, sondern auch die Bundesgartenschau 2021. Beide Projekte sollen nachhaltig die positive Entwicklung der Stadt fortschreiben.

Lagegunst und Erreichbarkeit sind zwei Aspekte, von denen Erfurt maßgeblich profitiert. Gelegen am Kreuz­­ungs­­punkt zweier alter Handelsstraßen, hat dies die Entwicklung der Stadt Erfurt schon von jeher positiv beeinflusst. Heute ist die Ver­­kehr­s­infrastruktur rund um die Landes­haupt­stadt in einem hervor­­ra­genden Zustand und sorgt dafür, dass Erfurt schnell und un­­kom­pliziert erreichbar ist; sei es über den ICE-Bahnhof, die ex­zellente Autobahnanbindung oder den internationalen Verkehrsflughafen.

Als wichtiger Bestandteil des „Verkehrsprojekt Deutsche Ein­­heit 8“ verfügt Erfurt seit Dezember 2015 über eine neue Hoch­­geschwindigkeitsstrecke nach Berlin, 2017 folgt der Ab­­schnitt nach München. Verkürzte Fahrzeiten und optimal abgestimmte Fahrpläne machen Erfurt als Standort für Meetings, Tagungen und zentrale Unternehmensdienst­leis­­tungen noch attraktiver.

Die Lebensqualität der Landeshauptstadt wirkt anziehend. Egal ob als Tourist, Student, Investor oder Einwohner – Erfurt ver­­­­zaubert mit Thüringer Charme und weltoffener Freund­­l­ich­­keit. Erfurt ist eine der wenigen Städte des Frei­­staates, die kontinuierlich wächst. Jährlich mehr als 10.000 vor allem junge Men­schen wählen Erfurt als neuen Lebens­­mittelpunkt. Mit einem lebendigen Flair und selbstbewussten, engagierten Bürgern bietet Erfurt alles, was man von einer Landes­haupt­­­stadt er­­­­wartet: Eine reizvolle und bewegte Ver­gan­gen­­heit, eine traum­­hafte Architektur, eine über Jahr­­hunderte ge­­wachsene Kultur­­land­­schaft, ein reiches Angebot an Aus- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten, modernste Sport­­ein­­rich­tungen und vor allem Perspektiven für jeden, der sich niederlässt.

ice_bahnhof_bahnhof_willy-brandt-platzmdr-funkhaus

An Universität und Fachhochschule sind gut 10.000 Stu­dierende eingeschrieben. Gemeinsam mit den Lehrkräften bringen sie neue Ideen, studentisches Leben, internationale Verbindungen und Forschergeist in die Stadt. Enge Verzahnungen zu Forschung und Entwicklung sichern Unternehmen die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit auf dem nationalen und internationalen Markt. Forschungsinstitute am Standort Erfurt ver­­kürzen den Transfer zwischen Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft.

Mit der ICE-City Erfurt, einem modernen Ort zum Arbeiten, Tagen und Wohnen, entsteht im direkten Umfeld des Erfurter Hauptbahnhofes ein komplett neues Stadtquartier. Auf einer Fläche mit der Größe von 30 Fußballfeldern sollen Hotel- und Tagungsflächen, flexibel nutzbare Büro- und Gewerbe­flächen, Restaurants, Freizeiteinrichtungen, kleinteilige Laden­­einheiten, hochwertiger Wohnraum sowie großzügige Park- und Grünflächen entstehen. Damit bietet die ICE-City In­­vestoren und Projektentwicklern, die auf beste Erreichbarkeit und ein attraktives Umfeld setzen, erstklassige Aussichten.

Logistikzentrum im Herzen Europas: Schnelle ICE-Ver­bin­dungen, die exzellente Anbindung an das Autobahnnetz und der Flughafen Erfurt-Weimar sorgen für kurze Wege innerhalb Deutschlands und Europas. Im „Güterverkehrszentrum Erfurt“ (GVZ) ermöglicht ein hochmodernes Bahnterminal die schnelle und einfache Verknüpfung von Straße und Schiene. Insgesamt versorgen von Erfurt aus mehr als 70 Unternehmen ihre Kunden mit logistischen Dienstleistungen – von der Zusam­men­führung, Lagerung, Kommissionierung bis hin zur Verteilung von Waren.

Von der Mikroelektronik zum Hightech-Standort. Noch im 20. Jahrhundert bestimmte die Mikroelektronik das Wirt­schafts­­profil der Stadt. Bis heute entwickelten sich daraus Unternehmen, die auf den Gebieten der Mikrotechnologie, Sensorik und IT erfolgreich sind. Insbesondere im Erfurter Südosten sind zahlreiche Hochtechnologieunternehmen be­­heimatet. Die Landeshauptstadt setzt auf Zukunfts­tech­no­­logien des 21. Jahrhunderts. Das Forschungs- und Indus­trie­­zen­­trum Erfurt-Südost (FIZ) hat sich in den vergangenen Jahren zu einem Hightech- Standort und Kompetenzzen­trum der Mikro­­elektronik und Mikrosystemtechnik entwickelt. Das Gewerbe­gebiet ist aber auch Heimat des An­­wendungszentrums Mikro­­system­technik, das Firmen­gründungen unterstützt und mit dem IMMS und dem CiS zwei Forschungsein­rich­tungen beherbergt.

Die Thüringer Landeshauptstadt ist ein junger, innovativer Medienstandort, der die Medienlandschaft richtungweisend bereichert. So findet beispielsweise das IOSONO-Sound­sys­tem von hier aus seinen Weg in die Welt. Mit der Abteilung Kinder­­medien des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Digitale Medien­tech­nologie ist auch die Forschung in Erfurt zu Hause. Überhaupt haben die Kindermedien großes Potenzial und einen ganz besonderen Stellenwert in der Landeshauptstadt. Der KiKA, der Kinderkanal von ARD und ZDF, das Landes­funk­­haus des Mitteldeutschen Rund­­funks (MDR) und der Studio­­park KinderMedienZentrum bilden den Kern der Branche in Erfurt. Viele junge Unter­­nehmen – auch außerhalb des Zentrums – nutzen diese deutschlandweit einmalige Infrastruktur, allen voran die Kinderfilm GmbH, deren Produktionen mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet wurden.

messe-erfurt_erwiconblumenmarkt_016

Maschinen- und Anlagenbau sowie Gartenbau sind ebenso Branchen mit langer Tradition. Seit Ende des 19. Jahr­hunderts werden vor Ort Spezialmaschinen ge­­fertigt; heute sind es vor allem Pressen, Pumpen und Generatoren. Wegweisend sind das Generatorenwerk der Siemens AG und die Schuler Pressen GmbH, einer der zentralen Produktions- und Service­­standorte des Schuler Konzerns, welche die ausgezeichnete Infra­struk­­tur und das gut ausgebildete Fachpersonal zu schätzen wissen und selbst als Ausbilder und zuverlässiger Arbeit­­­­geber in Erscheinung treten.

Tief verwurzelt mit der Stadt ist der erwerbsmäßige Gartenbau, welcher auf eine über 300-jährige Geschichte zurückblickt. Auf den mittelalterlichen Waidanbau folgten ab dem 19. Jahr­hundert die Zucht und der Handel mit Blumen- und Gemüse­samen, die Erfurt als Gartenstadt weltbekannt machten und den Beinamen „Blumenstadt“ einbrachten. Im Rahmen der Bundesgartenschau 2021 wird Erfurt an diese Tradition als „GartenKulturStadt“ anknüpfen.

Tourismus mit vielen Facetten. Wer einmal in Erfurt zu Besuch war, weiß, warum der Tourismus zu einem be­­achtlichen Wirtschaftsfaktor für Erfurt wurde. Besucher aus aller Welt haben die Stadt bereits kennengelernt, ihre Zahl hat sich in den vergangenen 15 Jahren auf mehr als elf Millionen Gäste pro Jahr verdoppelt. Mit 809.300 Übernachtungen konnte im Jahr 2015 ein neuer Spitzenwert erreicht werden, der die konstant positive Entwicklung der letzten Jahre bestätigt. Alles in allem sichert und schafft der Wirtschaftsfaktor Tourismus rund 15.000 Arbeitsplätze.

Die Landeshauptstadt besticht dabei nicht nur mit ihrer Ge­­schichte und Architektur – hier sei insbesondere auf Per­­s­önlichkeiten wie Martin Luther, auf das lebendige jüdische Erbe oder architektonische Hingucker wie die Krämer­brücke hingewiesen –, sondern tritt auch als moderner Ta­­gungs- und Kongressstandort in Erscheinung. Mit der Ent­­wicklung der ICE-City und der Fertigstellung der Multi­funk­tionsarena wird dieser Tourismuszweig weiter gestärkt werden.

Die Thüringer Landeshauptstadt ist das wirtschaftliche und politische Zentrum des Freistaates. Von Erfurt aus werden die politischen Geschicke des Freistaates Thüringen gelenkt. Die Wirtschaft steht auf einem breiten Fundament aus verschiedenen Branchen. Etwa 14.000 Unternehmen beschäftigen mehr als 140.700 Menschen. Die Stadt ist liebens- und lebenswert, das hat sich herumgesprochen – viele junge Menschen ziehen hierher. Die Potenziale der Stadt sind immens. Sie zu nutzen und weiter auszu­­bauen ist unser oberstes Anliegen.

ob_bausewein_bruehlAndreas Bausewein
Andreas Bausewein (Jahrgang 1973) ist seit Juli 2006 Oberbürgermeister der Landes­hauptstadt Erfurt. Er studierte Pädagogik an der Fachhochschule und der Universität Erfurt. Nach Berufsjahren als Sozialpädagoge beim Berufsfortbildungswerk (bfw) in der JVA Tonna und als Qualifizierungskoordinator beim DGB Thüringen in Erfurt, wurde der Sozialdemokrat 2004 in den Landtag des Freistaates Thüringen gewählt.