Andrea Marongiu: Baden-Württemberg is also a logistics state

Baden-Württemberg is not only innova­tive and inventive, it is also logistically well positioned. With increasing turnover, geographical changes and increasing exports, the logistics sector is in a state of change.

In a sectoral comparison, the logistics sector in the state of Baden-Württem­berg has advanced quietly and almost unnoticed to third place by gross domestic product and in the number of employees. It took a long time before government, pro­­moters of business development, regional planners and the population finally recog­­nised the significance of the logistics sector. While acceptance increased over this period, the logistics sector is probably still the most underestimated sector in Baden-Württemberg. The negative clichés that reduce logistics to a few stereotypes like environmental pollution, backed-up traffic and noise are still only too real.

Studierende_außen-Kopie

The actors in the industry have much work to do. They want to see the irreplaceable function of logistics become a focal point for a prospering export in­­dustry in any debate on logistics. And yet the history of logistics in Baden-Württemberg is a success story par ex­­cellence, as a few facts strikingly confirm. For example, some 180,000 people were employed in core areas of the lo­­gis­­tics industry in Baden-Württemberg in 2009. This corresponds to 4.7 per cent of all employees. If one includes those employees also performing logistics func­­tions in manufacturing and trading com­­panies, there are some 380,000 people employed in logistics functions in Baden-Württemberg, which corresponds to 9.8 per cent of all employees in that state.

Turnover in the logistics sector in Baden-Württemberg is increasing constantly. The crisis years of 2008/2009 have been overcome and turnover now resembles former successes again, so that, while this period represented a dent from a long-term point of view, it never became the feared end of the success story. On the contrary, experts forecast growth in all areas of the logistics industry. With the eastern expansion of the European Union, its logistical and geographical centre is also shifting eastwards, from which Baden-Württemberg is also benefiting through its geographical position.
But there is also another side of the coin, namely the heavy increase in transit traf­­fic. Baden-Württemberg’s success­ful logis­­tics development is due to a large extent to manufacturing companies, which in­­clude the numerous market leaders in the motor vehicle manufactur­­ing and me­­chanical engineering in­­dustries. The prod­­ucts from these sectors are sought after all over the world and demand is in­­creas­­ing. While in 1970, Baden-Würt­temberg’s export quota made up some 21 per cent of all produc­tion, in 1980 it was 24 per cent, in 1989, 29 per cent and in 2009, over 36 per cent. An essential requirement for further posi­­tive develop­ment in mar­­keting products from Baden-Württemberg around the world is the close link be­­tween logistics and manufacturing. In short: logistics makes a cru­­cial contribution to preserving Baden-Württemberg as a business location.


DHL-1-Kopie

Last but not least, Baden-Württemberg offers positive development opportunities for distribution logistics companies which function as suppliers for the popu­­la­­tion in the conurbations in the state. Be­­sides Karlsruhe, Mannheim und Stutt­­gart, Baden-Württemberg is home to six further cities with more than 100,000 residents. The consumer potential is more than ten mil­­lion people. The supply radius of the dis­­tribution centres based in Baden-Würt­­temberg is continuing to expand be­­yond the state borders and is now reach­­ing European dimensions. Baden-Württem­­berg occupies another top posi­­tion in intra-logistics, which covers all processes of the intra-company materials flow of one or more companies. In relation to its size, Baden-Württemberg arguably has the highest intra-logistics company density of all states in Ger­many and probably worldwide.

A study by Prognos, a German polling company, assesses the economic players in Baden-Württemberg as confident; in other words, southwest Germany is not only Germany’s economic powerhouse, it also has the best prospects for the future. Of 25 top economic re­­gions in Germany with future-capable industries, ten such locations are in Baden-Würt­tem­­berg alone. This locations study de­­scribes an axis for the future which runs from Mannheim through Stuttgart to Bib­­erach and Tuttlingen to Lake Constance.

Hochschule-Heilbronn-Gruppenarbeit-Kopie

In the land of inventors and tinkerers that is Baden-Württemberg, the current logis­­tics tertiary education scene can stand any comparison. Besides the tra­di­­tional universities in Heilbronn, Mannheim and Lörrach, which specialised decades ago in training logistics managers, a dense network of universities which offer nu­­merous courses in logistics has formed. A state-wide logistics network will now improve cooperation between companies, universities, research centres and other logistics players. With this purpose in mind, the Baden-Würt­temberg Ministry of Economic Affairs initiated a competition in order to en­­trust an initiative worthy of funding with the task of forming a cluster. The logistics cluster is in­­tended to reinforce tech­­nology transfer between companies and business-related facilities, integrate ex­­ter­nal know­­ledge into the company inno­­vation process, ease the exchange of information be­­tween logistics players and improve com­­petitiveness and innovative strength of smaller and medium-sized companies in particular.

However, due to the neglect of the trans­­port infrastructure in Baden-Württem­berg for many years, one Achilles heel re­­mains. This applies mainly to road trans­­port but also to rail, inland waterways and Stuttgart Airport. Given the constantly growing volume of goods carried by road and heavy increases in transit traffic, industry associations and chambers of industry and commerce ensure that public funds earmarked for expansion of the transport infrastructure are invested where bottle-necks need to be removed.

 

Bild-Marongiu-3The author has a degree in business ad­­min­­istration from Heilbronn Univer­sity, where he majored in transport manage­ment. After graduation he wor­ked as an assistant to the managing director at the Verband Spedi­­tion und Logistik Baden-Württem­berg e. V., whose deputy man­­aging director he be­­came in 2000. The author has been man­­aging director of the association since 2009.

Andrea Marongiu: Musterländle ist auch Logistikländle

Baden-Württemberg ist nicht nur innova­­tiv und erfindungsfreudig, sondern auch logistisch gut aufgestellt. Mit wachsenden Umsätzen, geografischen Veränderungen sowie einer steigenden Exportquote be­­fin­­det sich die Logistikbranche im Wandel.

Die Logistikwirtschaft des Lan­des Baden-Württemberg avancierte still und fast unbemerkt auf Platz drei im Branchen­vergleich ge­­­­mes­­­­sen am Brutto­inlands­produkt be­­­zie­­­hungs­­­­­­weise an der Zahl der Beschäf­tig­­ten. Es hat lange gedauert, bis Po­­li­tik, Wirt­schafts­­förderer, Regional­­planer und letzt­­lich auch die Bevöl­ke­rung die Bedeutung der Logistik erkannt ha­­ben. Die Akzeptanz ist in dieser Zeit zwar ge­­stiegen, doch noch immer ist die Logis­tik­­branche der wohl am stärks­­ten unterschätzte Sektor im „Ländle“. Zu sehr stehen noch die nega­­ti­­ven Kli­schees im Vordergrund, die Lo­­gis­­tik auf wenige Begriffe wie Umwelt­­ver­schmut­­zung, Stau und Lärm reduzieren.

Studierende_außen-Kopie

Es liegt noch ein gutes Stück Arbeit vor den Akteuren im Logistiksektor. Sie wol­­len die unersetzbare Funktion der Logis­­tik für eine prosperierende Export­wirt­schaft im Vordergrund sehen, wenn über den Logistikzweig diskutiert wird. Und dennoch: Die Geschichte der Logistik in Baden-Württemberg ist eine Erfolgs­geschichte par excellence, wie einige Fakten in ein­­drucksvoller Weise bestätigen: In Baden-Württemberg waren im Jahr 2009 etwa 180.000 Per­so­nen im Kernbereich der Logistik beschäftigt. Dies ent­spricht ei­­nem Anteil von 4,7 Pro­zent an der Gesamt­­be­­­schäf­­ti­gung. Unter Berück­­sich­­tigung der Beschäftigten, die in den In­­­­dustrie- und Handels­­­­­unter­neh­­­­men mit logistischen Auf­­gaben betraut sind, sind in Baden-Württemberg rund 380.000 Beschäf­tigte im Logistik­be­reich tätig – dies entspricht 9,8 Prozent der Gesamtbeschäftigung in Baden-Württemberg.

Die Umsätze der Branche in Baden-Würt­­temberg steigen stetig an. Die Kri­­sen­­jahre 2008/2009 sind überwunden, die Umsätze knüpfen wieder an frühere Er­­folge an, sodass dieser Zeitraum zwar eine Delle in der Langfristbetrachtung, aber keinesfalls das befürchtete Ende der Erfolgsstory geworden ist. Im Gegen­­­teil, die Exper­ten prognos­tizie­ren in al­­len Bereichen der Logistik Zu­­wächse. Mit der Erweiterung Europas Richtung Osten ver­­­­schiebt sich die logis­­tische und geo­­­gra­­­­fische Mitte der Euro­päischen Union eben­­falls nach Osten, wovon Baden-Württemberg allein durch seine geogra­fische Lage profitiert. Es gibt jedoch auch eine Kehr­seite der Me­­daille: der starke Zuwachs an Transit­ver­keh­ren.
Baden-Württembergs erfolgreiche Logis­tik­­­­entwicklung basiert auf einem sehr ho­­hen Anteil an Industriebetrieben, zu denen zahl­­reiche Weltmarktführer aus den Be­­rei­­chen Fahrzeugbau und Ma­­schi­­nen­bau zählen. Deren Produkte sind welt­­weit ge­­fragt – mit steigender Ten­denz. Betrug die Export­­quote Baden-Württembergs im Jahr 1970 noch 21 Prozent, so wa­­ren es 1980 be­­reits 24 Prozent, 1989 schon 29 Prozent und 2009 bereits über 36 Prozent. Unab­­ding­­bare Voraussetzung für eine weitere posi­­tive Entwicklung der Vermarktung baden-württembergischer Produkte rund um den Globus ist die enge Verflechtung zwischen Logistik und In­­dus­­trie im Land. Kurzum: Logistik leis­­tet einen entschei­denden Beitrag zur Standort­siche­rung.


DHL-1-Kopie

Nicht zuletzt bietet Baden-Württemberg gute Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten für Dis­­tri­­butionslogistiker, die als Versorger der Be­­völ­­kerung in den Ballungszentren des Lan­­des fungieren. Neben Karlsruhe, Mann­­heim und Stuttgart beherbergt Baden-Württem­­berg weitere sechs Städ­­te mit mehr als 100.000 Einwohnern. Das Konsumentenpotenzial beläuft sich im Land auf über zehn Millionen Men­schen. Der Versorgungs­radius der in Baden-Würt­temberg an­­ge­­siedelten Distri­bu­tions­zen­­tren weitet sich dabei immer weiter über die Grenzen des Bundes­landes aus und erreicht inzwischen euro­­päische Dimen­­sionen. Eine weitere Spit­zen­posi­tion be­­setzt Baden-Württemberg im Bereich der Intra­logistik, die alle Pro­zesse des innerbetrieblichen Material­flusses eines oder mehrerer Unter­neh­men umfasst. Baden-Württemberg hat im Ver­­hältnis zu seiner Größe die mit Ab­­stand höchste Intralogistik-Firmen­dichte unter allen Bun­­desländern, vermutlich sogar weltweit.
Eine Studie aus dem Hause Prognos stimmt die Wirtschaftsakteure im Land zuversichtlich. Derzufolge ist der Süd­westen das wirtschaftliche Kraft­zen­trum Deutschlands und hat darüber hinaus die besten Zukunftsaussichten. Von 25 deut­­schen Top-Regionen mit zukunftsfähigen Branchen befinden sich allein zehn Stand­­orte in Baden-Württemberg. Beschrieben wird eine Zukunftsachse, die von Mann­heim über Stuttgart bis nach Biberach und Tuttlingen zum Boden­­see verläuft.

Hochschule-Heilbronn-Gruppenarbeit-Kopie

Im Land der Tüftler scheut auch die be­­ste­­hende Hochschullandschaft mit dem Schwer­­punkt Logistik keinen Ver­gleich. Ne­­ben den Traditionsschmieden in Heil­­bronn, Mannheim und Lörrach, welche bereits vor Jahrzehnten ihren Schwer­punkt in der Ausbildung logistischer Führungs­­kräfte setzten, bildete sich ein dichtes Netz von Hochschulen, die zahlreiche Studien­gän­­ge im Bereich Logistik an­­bie­­ten. Ein landes­weites Logis­­tik­­netz­werk soll nun dazu beitragen, die Zusammen­arbeit zwischen Unter­neh­men, Hoch­schu­­len, Forschungs­ein­rich­tun­gen und ande­­ren Logistik­ak­teu­­ren zu ver­bes­­sern. Hierzu hat das baden-würt­tem­­ber­gi­sche Wirt­schafts­minis­terium einen Wett­­be­­werb initiiert, um eine förde­rungs­wür­dige Ini­­tia­­tive mit der Cluster­aufgabe zu be­­trauen. Der Logistikcluster soll den Techno­lo­gie­transfer zwischen Unter­neh­men und wirt­­schaftsnahen Ein­­rich­tun­gen stärken, externes Wissen in den Inno­va­tions­­pro­­zess der Unter­neh­men einbinden, den Erfah­­rungs­­­austausch unter Logistik­­akteuren erleichtern und die Wett­­bewerbs­­fähig­keit und Inno­va­tionskraft vor allem von kleineren und mittleren Unternehmen verbessern.

Achillesferse bleibt in Baden-Würt­tem­berg indes der lange Jahre vernachlässigte Ausbau der Verkehrsinfrastruktur. Dies gilt hauptsächlich für die Straße, aber ebenso für Schiene, Binnen­was­ser­­stra­­ßen und den Landesflughafen in Stuttgart. Bei einem stetig wachsenden Trans­port­­auf­­kommen im Straßen­güter­fern­ver­kehr und einem stark zunehmenden Transit­ver­kehr setzen sich Verbände und Kam­­mern des Landes dafür ein, dass öffent­­liche Mittel für den Ausbau der Verkehrs­infra­struk­tur strikt dort investiert werden, wo es Eng­­pässe zu beseitigen gilt.

Bild-Marongiu-3Der Diplom-Betriebswirt (FH) hat an der Fachhochschule Heilbronn Verkehrs­­­be­­triebs­­­­­wirt­­schaft studiert. Nach dem Stu­­dium stieg er als Assistent des Geschäfts­­­­füh­­rers beim Verband Spedition und Logistik Baden-Württemberg e.V. ein, wo er im Jahr 2000 zum stellvertre­ten­­den Geschäfts­­führer ernannt wurde. Seit 2009 ist der Autor Geschäftsführer des Verbandes Spe­­di­­tion und Logistik Baden-Württemberg e. V.