Andrea Adams: Rhineland-Palatinate – An agricultural full-line producer and supplier

From grain, sugar beet and potatoes through fruit, vegetables, milk, eggs and meat to excellent wines and tobacco – the diversity of agricultural production in Rhineland-Palatinate is unique in Germany.

The farming and winemaking families in Rhineland-Palatinate and their products ensure healthy, enjoyable nutrition with locally-grown high-quality products. The so-called “RheinPfalz Vegetable Garden” is the largest contiguous vegetable-growing area in Germany. In particular, radishes (almost four fifths of Germany’s total production!), bunching onions, carrots, onions, asparagus, cabbage and lettuce grow here on over 19,000 hectares. The six wine-making areas in Rhineland-Palatinate – the Ahr, Central Rhine, Moselle, Nahe, the Palatinate and Rhenish Hesse – encompass 64,000 hectares and 320 million vine stocks, which is about two thirds of all german grapevines.

Agriculture and winemaking in Rhineland-Pala­tinate are an important economic factor. Over 44,000 permanent employees and another 46,500 seasonal employees work in 17,500 vineyards. The 410,000 hectares of arable land, 225.000 hectares of pasture and 70,000 hectares of permanent crops (vineyards and orchards) earn some three billion euros and gross value-added of over one billion euros. In addition, the daily work of these occupations creates and preserves a cultural landscape that not only makes Rhineland-Palatinate pleasant and a place  worth living in for its residents but also makes the state an attractive destination for tourists from elsewhere in Germany and from all over the world. The steep hillsides of the Moselle, the Ahr and Central Rhine, together with the Rhine Plain, hilly Rhenish Hesse and the Mittelgebirge (the Central German Uplands), which are characterised by animal husbandry and grassland management, contribute to this image as well.

Family owned and managed operations and small-unit (“patchwork”) land-structures are typical of the Rhineland-Palatinate and make this diversity possible. At the same time, the latest production methods, excellently-trained managers and a sense of responsibility to nature, the environment and future generations form the basis for sustainable management. In doing so, the companies operate under demanding and constantly-changing basic conditions, which make continual adaptation necessary: globalisation coupled with structural change and volatile markets, changing demands by society, political circles, climate change, digitisation and restrictions in production by corres­ponding legislation. Successfully overcoming these challenges requires strong professional representation. As a representative organisation, the Mainz-based Southern Rhineland-Palatinate Farmers’ and Vintners’ Association (BWV) promotes the interests and concerns of these occupational groups. The BWV originated in 1990 from the merger of the Rhenish Hesse Farmers’ Association and the Palatinate Farmers’ and Vintner’s Association and today has some 12,000 members in the Rhenish Hesse and Palatinate regions.

Tighter regulations, excessive bureaucracy and more and more official requirements accelerate structural change, particularly in small-unit areas, and increase production costs. As a result, the profitability of many forms of cropping decreases until growing is no longer worth it. This threatens the diversity of agriculture in Rhineland-Palatinate over the mid-term. Against this background, the core task of the BWV is agricultural and winemaking decision-making. Its priority aim is not only the long-term maintenance of farming and winemaking in Rhineland-Palatinate, regardless of the type of production and size, but also the retention of decision-making freedom in crop-planning. To achieve this aim, the BWV as a state farmers’ association is primarily concerned with all policy areas to do with winemaking and agriculture at state level. But the bundling of regional interests is also of major importance with regard to a continually expanding transfer of agricultural and winemaking decision-making to federal and especially EU level. Only by adopting coordinated and uniform positions will it be possible to promote regional interests that satisfy production conditions and the justified interests of local operations. If this fails, higher-level decisions involve the risk of undermining particular interests, with considerable consequences for individual regions in some cases.

In addition, the already very high and continually rising production and market requirements on farmers and winemakers in Rhineland-Palatinate demand reliable information and positions. Giving comprehensive advice to members on various current issues and innovations connected with farming and winemaking is another of the core competences of the BWV, such as providing accounting and taxation services.

Through these activities, the BWV actively contributes to the future viability of agriculture and winemaking in Rhineland-Palatinate and hence to agricultural diversity. This diversity is also secured by the trend to a regional focus. With an increasing number of consumers, the future of purchased products is playing a greater role again, particularly in the field of nutrition. With its comprehensive range of agricultural and oenological products, Rhineland-Palatinate is more than catering to this demand in the field of foodstuffs and is thus equipped to handle this growing interest in local products. Rhineland-Palatinate: an agricultural full-range producer and supplier with a future!

Andrea Adams
The author comes from a farming family. She studied agriculture, majoring in management, and has worked for the Southern Rhineland-Palatinate Farmers’ and Vintners’ Association in Mainz since 1999. She was appointed as deputy general manager in 2005 before being promoted general manager in 2014.

Andrea Adams: Rheinland-Pfalz – Landwirtschaftlicher Vollsortimenter

Von Getreide, Zuckerrüben und Kartoffeln über Obst, Gemüse sowie Milch, Eier und Fleisch bis hin zu hervorragenden Weinen und Tabak: Die Vielfalt der ­­landwirtschaftlichen Produktion in Rheinland-Pfalz ist bundesweit einzigartig.

Die Bauern- und Winzer­­familien in Rheinland-Pfalz sorgen mit ihren Erzeugnissen für eine gesunde und genussvolle Ernährung mit qualitativ hochwertigen Produkten aus der Re­­gion. Mit dem „Gemüsegarten RheinPfalz“ liegt das größte zusammenhängende Gemüseanbaugebiet Deutsch­­lands in Rheinland-Pfalz. Auf über 19.000 ha wachsen hier insbesondere Radieschen (nahezu vier Fünftel der bundesweiten Produktion!), Bundzwiebeln, Möhren/Karotten, Speisezwiebeln, Spargel, Blumen­kohl und Feldsalat. In den sechs rheinland-pfälzischen Weinanbaugebieten Ahr, Mittelrhein, Mosel, Nahe, Pfalz und Rheinhessen stehen auf 64.000 ha Weinbergen 320 Millionen und damit zwei Drittel aller deutschen Rebstöcke.

Die Landwirtschaft und der Weinbau in Rheinland-Pfalz sind ein bedeutender Wirtschaftsfaktor. In gut 17.500 Betrieben arbeiten mehr als 44.000 ständig Beschäftigte und zusätzlich 46.500 Saisonarbeitskräfte. Auf 410.000 ha Ackerland, 225.000 ha Grünland und 70.000 ha Dauerkulturen (Rebfläche und Obstanlagen) wird ein Produktionswert von ca. drei Milliarden EUR erzielt und eine Bruttowertschöpfung von über einer Mil­­liarde EUR erwirtschaftet. Darüber hinaus schafft und erhält der Berufs­­stand mit seiner täglichen Arbeit eine Kultur­land­­schaft, die Rheinland-Pfalz nicht nur für seine Be­­wohner lebens- und liebenswert, sondern auch für Touristen aus Deutsch­­land und aller Welt zu einem attraktiven Reiseziel macht. Dazu tragen nicht nur die Steillagen an Mosel, Ahr und Mittelrhein, sondern auch die Rhein­­ebene, das hügelige Rheinhessen und die von Vieh­haltung und Grünland­wirtschaft geprägten Mittelgebirgslagen bei.

Familiengeführte Be­­triebe und kleinteilige Struk­turen sind typisch für Rheinland-Pfalz und ermöglichen die oben beschriebene Vielfalt. Gleichzeitig bilden modernste Pro­­duktionsmethoden, hervorragend ausgebildete Be­­triebs­­leiter und das Bewusstsein für die Verantwortung gegenüber Natur, Umwelt sowie den nachfolgenden Generationen die Grundlage eines nachhaltigen Wirt­schaftens. Dabei agieren die Unternehmen unter an­­spruchs­­vollen und sich ständig ändernden Rahmen­be­dingungen, die eine kontinuierliche Anpassung erforderlich machen: Globalisierung in Verbindung mit Struk­­tur­­wandel und volatilen Märkten, sich wandelnde An­­sprüche von Gesellschaft und Politik, Klimawandel, Digi­­tal­­isierung sowie Einschränkungen in der Produktion durch entsprechende Gesetzgebung. Um diese Heraus­forderungen erfolgreich meistern zu können, bedarf es einer starken berufsständischen Vertretung. Im südlichen Rheinland-Pfalz setzt sich der Bauern- und Winzerverband Rheinland-Pfalz Süd e.V. (BWV) mit Sitz in Mainz als agrar- und weinbaupolitische Interessen­­vertretung für die Belange des Berufsstandes ein. Der BWV entstand 1990 aus der Fusion zwischen dem Bauern­­verband Rheinhessen und der Pfälzischen Bauern- und Winzerschaft und hat heute ca. 12.000 Mitglieder aus Rheinhessen und der Pfalz.

Verschärftes Ordnungsrecht, ausufernde Bürokratie und immer mehr Auflagen beschleunigen den Struktur­­wandel, gerade in kleinstrukturierten Gebieten und erhöhen die Produktionskosten. In der Folge sinkt die Rentabilität mancher Kulturen, bis sich deren Anbau nicht mehr lohnt. Da­­durch ist auch die Vielfalt der Landwirtschaft in Rheinland-Pfalz mittelfristig bedroht. Vor diesem Hinter­grund ist die agrar- und weinbaupolitische Willens­­bildung die zentrale Aufgabe des BWV. Oberstes Ziel ist dabei nicht nur der langfristige Erhalt der Be­­triebe in Rheinland-Pfalz, unabhängig von Produktions­ausrichtung und Größe, sondern auch der Erhalt der Entscheidungsfreiheit in deren Anbauplanung. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, setzt sich der BWV als Landesbauern­verband vordergründig mit allen die Landwirtschaft und den Weinbau betreffenden Politikbereichen auf Landes­ebene auseinander. Aber auch im Hinblick auf eine immer weitreichendere Verlagerung der Agrar- und Weinbau­politik auf Bundes- und insbesondere auf EU-Ebene, ist die Bündelung regionaler Interessen von großer Bedeu­tung. Denn nur durch abgestimmte und einheitliche Positionen ist es noch möglich, regionale Ansprüche durch­­zusetzen, die den Produktionsbedingungen und den berechtigten Ansprüchen der Betriebe vor Ort gerecht werden. Gelingt dies nicht, bergen Entscheidungen auf einer höheren Verwaltungsebene die Gefahr, Partikular­­interessen zu unterlaufen mit teilweise erheblichen Folgen für einzelne Regionen.

Zudem erfordern die bereits sehr hohen und weiter steigenden produktionstechnischen und marktwirtschaftlichen Anforderungen an die Landwirte und Winzer in Rheinland-Pfalz verlässliche Informationen und belastbare Aussagen. Die umfassende Beratung der Mit­glieder zu verschiedenen aktuellen Themen und Neu­e­­r­ungen rund um Landwirtschaft und Weinbau gehört deshalb ebenso zu den Kernkompe­tenzen des BWV wie die Betreuung der Betriebe in den Bereichen Buchführungs-, Rechnungs- und Steuerwesen.

Durch diese Unterstützung trägt der BWV aktiv zur Zukunftsfähigkeit der rheinland-pfälzischen Betriebe und damit zur landwirtschaftlichen Vielfalt ­­­bei. Dieser Vielfalt kommt auch der Trend hin zur Regionalität entgegen. Bei einer steigenden Anzahl von Verbrauchern spielt die Herkunft der gekauften Produkte wieder eine größere Rolle, insbesondere im Bereich Ernährung. Mit seiner umfangreichen Palette an landwirtschaftlichen und weinbaulichen Erzeugnissen wird Rheinland-Pfalz diesem Anspruch im Bereich der Lebensmittel mehr als gerecht und ist damit gerüstet für das wachsende Interesse für Produkte aus der Heimat. Rheinland-Pfalz: Landwirtschaftlicher Vollsortimenter mit Zukunft!

Andrea Adams
Die Autorin stammt aus einer Landwirtschaftsfamilie, hat Agrarwirtschaft mit Schwerpunkt Betriebswirtschaft studiert und ist seit 1999 beim Bauern- und Winzerverband Rheinland-Pfalz Süd e.V. in Mainz beschäftigt. Im Jahr 2005 wurde sie zur stellvertretenden Hauptgeschäftsführerin ernannt, bevor sie 2014 zur Hauptgeschäftsführerin des Verbandes berufen wurde.