Amgen GmbH: Dedication and expertise benefiting patients around the world

As one of the pioneers in biotechnology, Amgen has developed into one of the largest, independent biotech companies in the world since the 1980s. Amgen has committed itself to using the latest biomedical advancements to benefit patients suffering from serious illnesses. This commitment focuses on the development, manufacturing and sales of innovative human therapeutics. The com­­pany’s “biology first” approach enables its researchers to examine at first the molecular signals of a disease and then determine which type of treatment will most likely result in the best-­possible effectiveness and safety. Meth­­odologies like these are the reason why science and research enjoy top priority at Amgen: the company invests 20 per cent of its annual turnover in researching and developing new preparations. Just as important as scientific innovation is the quality assurance of the manu­­facturing process for biological pharmaceuticals. This requires constant qual­­­­­­ity control and reliable supply of medicines to patients.

_D331690-1-Kopie amgen_micromed0195_Labor-4-Kopie amgen_micromed0888_Labor3-Kopie

 

 

 

 

 

 

Including its subsidiary, Amgen GmbH, the company has been present in Germany for 25 years. Over 370 employees dedicate themselves to product marketing and clinical studies. Amgen GmbH is conducting more than 60 active investigations throughout all study phases in Germany alone. About 200 employees of the Amgen Research Munich GmbH focus on research and development, primarily in oncology. Among other things, the company specialises in the development of “biospecific T cell engag­ers” (BiTEs) for the treatment of cancer. At the Regensburg site, nearly 20 employees are currently working on identifying chemical origins for new product developments with the help of high-through­put screening.

 

_MKY0286a_Amgen-Gebaeude-Kopie

Amgen’s mission is to pursue the objective of improving patients’ quality of life considerably. For that purpose the company provides a working environment that allows employees to develop and exploit their full potential. Since 1991, the Amgen Foundation has been promoting science-oriented training programmes for scientists and offering courses for children and young people. The Amgen Foundation supports projects designed to improve the supply quality. Amgen inspires and prepares tomorrow’s scientists for the future through a wide range of scholarship and teaching programmes.

Amgen-Logo

 

  1. Address

    Hanauer Straße 1
    80992 München
    Telefon +49 89 149096-0
    Telefax +49 89 149096-2000
    www.amgen.de

Amgen GmbH: Mit Engagement und Know-How für Patienten auf der ganzen Welt

Als Pionier in der Biotechnologie ist Amgen seit 1980 mittlerweile zum welt­weit größten unabhängigen Biotech-­Unternehmen gewachsen. Amgen hat sich verpflichtet, die neuesten biomedizinischen Möglichkeiten zum Nutzen der Pa­­tienten mit ernsthaften Erkran­kungen zu erschließen. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf der Entwicklung, der Her­stellung und dem Vertrieb von innovativen Human­thera­­­peu­­tika. Der Ansatz des Unternehmens „Bio­­logie zuerst“ er­möglicht seinen Forschern, zunächst die komplexen mole­­kularen Signal­werte einer Krankheit zu untersuchen und dann zu bestimmen, welche Art von Me­­thoden mit größ­ter Wahrschein­­lichkeit zu optimaler Wirk­samkeit und Sicher­heit führen. Bei Amgen genießen Wissen­­­schaft und For­schung daher oberste Priorität: Jähr­­­lich investiert das Unter­neh­men 20 Pro­­­zent seines Umsatzes in die Erfor­­­sch­ung und Entwicklung neuer Präparate. Eben­­so wichtig wie die wis­­sen­schaft­liche Innovation ist die Quali­­täts­sicher­ung der bio­­logischen Arzneimittel im Her­stel­lungs­­­­­prozess. Dies be­­­­­deutet stän­­dige Quali­­täts­­kontrollen und die zuverlässige Ver­­sorgung der Patienten mit ­Medikamenten.

_D331690-1-Kopie amgen_micromed0195_Labor-4-Kopie amgen_micromed0888_Labor3-Kopie

 

 

 

 

 

 

Seit nunmehr 25 Jahren ist das Unter­neh­men durch die Tochter­gesell­schaft – die Amgen GmbH – auch in Deutsch­land vertreten. Über 370 Mitarbeiter legen ihr Engagement auf das Produkt­marke­ting und klinische Studien. Allein in Deutsch­land führt die Amgen GmbH mehr als 60 aktive Untersuchungen in allen Studien-­Phasen durch. Im Bereich For­schung und Ent­wicklung, vor allem in der Onkologie, ist hingegen die Amgen Research Munich GmbH mit rund 200 Mitarbeitern tätig. Das Unter­­­nehmen ist unter anderem spezialisiert auf die Entwicklung von „bispezifischen T-Zell Enga­­gern“ (BiTE’s) für die Be­­hand­­­lung von Krebs. Am Standort Re­­gens­burg arbeiten derzeit knapp 20 Mitarbeiter mit Hilfe des Hoch­druch­satz-Screening-Ver­fah­­­­rens daran, chemische Start­­­­­­punkte für Pro­dukt­neu­­­ent­wick­lun­gen zu identifizieren.

 

_MKY0286a_Amgen-Gebaeude-Kopie

Die Mission von Amgen gilt dem Ziel, die Lebensqualität von Patienten erheb­lich zu verbessern. Amgen bietet ein Ar­­beitsumfeld, in dem Mit­arbeiter sich ent­­falten und ihr Potenzial voll ausschöpfen können. Seit 1991 fördert die Amgen Foundation naturwissenschatliche Ausbil­­dungspro­gramme für Wissenschaftler ebenso wie Lehran­ge­­bote für Kinder und Jugend­liche. Die Amgen Stiftung unterstützt Pro­jekte zur Verbesserung der Ver­­sor­gungs­­qua­­lität. Amgen inspiriert und bereitet die Wissenschaftler von morgen auch durch eine Vielzahl von Scholarship- und Tea­ching Programmen auf die Zukunft vor.

Amgen-Logo

 

  1. Anschrift

    Hanauer Straße 1
    80992 München
    Telefon +49 89 149096-0
    Telefax +49 89 149096-2000
    www.amgen.de