Albtal-Verkehrs-Gesellschaft mbH – Connecting for the region

The Albtal-Verkehrs-Gesellschaft (AVG) carries over 73 million passengers every year safely to their destinations with its eco-friendly busses and trains. During its 60-year history, it has become one of the largest railway companies in Ger­­many in terms of passenger and freight traffic.

The AVG is a fundamental mainstay of the “Karlsruhe Model”, whose success has gained worldwide admiration and imitators for 25 years. As a tram-train system, it links the inner-city tram network in Karls­­ruhe with rail routes in the surrounding region. Passengers can reach their desti­­n­ations in the Karlsruhe area and in the surrounding region in dual-system rail vehicles – which are capable of travelling both on the tram and rail networks – without having to change.

Today, the AVG’s trams travel on almost all rail routes in the region. Since 2016, its vehicles have all travelled using “green” electricity. In addition, the AVG successfully operates freight services and builds railway infrastructure. “Since it was formed in 1957, the AVG has characterised and improved public commuter transport in the Karlsruhe region. Our aim is to guarantee long-term economical mobility for the people in the Upper Rhine region for the future,” emphasise managing directors Dr Alexander Pischon and Ascan Egerer.

Die Geschäftsführung Dr. Alexander Pischon (links) und Ascan Egerer (rechts)

Die Geschäftsführung
Dr. Alexander Pischon (links) und Ascan Egerer (rechts)

x

  1. Address

    Tullastraße 71
    76131 Karlsruhe
    Tel +49 721 6107-0
    www.avg.info

  2. Management

    Dr. Alexander Pischon
    Ascan Egerer

  3. Year of establishment

    1957

  4. Employees

    850

  5. Business activity

    Public commuter transport

Albtal-Verkehrs-Gesellschaft mbH – Unterwegs für die Region

Mit ihren Bahnen und Bussen bringt die Albtal-Verkehrs-Gesellschaft (AVG) pro Jahr über 73 Millionen Fahrgäste sicher und umweltfreundlich ans Ziel. Im Laufe ihres 60-jährigen Bestehens hat sie sich zu einer der größten Eisenbahngesellschaften Deutschlands im Personen- und Güterverkehr entwickelt.

Die AVG ist eine elementare Säule des „Karls­­ruher Modells“, das durch seinen Erfolg seit 25 Jahren weltweite Beachtung und Nachahmer findet.  Es verknüpft als Tram-­Train-System das innerstädtische Straßen­­­­bahnnetz von Karlsruhe mit den Eisen­­bahnstrecken in der Region. Fahrgäste erreichen mittels Zwei-System-Fahrzeugen, die sowohl im Straßenbahn- als auch im Eisen­­bahnnetz fahren können, ihre Ziele im Oberzentrum und im Umland – ohne Umstieg.

Die Stadtbahnen der AVG fahren heute auf nahezu allen Eisenbahnstrecken in der Region. Seit 2016 sind die Bahnen ausschließlich mit Ökostrom unterwegs. Zudem betreibt die AVG erfolgreich Güterverkehr und baut und betreibt Eisenbahninfrastruktur. „Seit ihrer Gründung 1957 hat die AVG den öffentlichen Nahverkehr in der Region Karlsruhe geprägt und verbessert. Unser Ziel ist es, auch zukünftig nachhaltige und wirtschaftliche Mobilität für die Menschen am Oberrhein sicherzustellen“, betonen die Geschäftsführer Dr. Alexander Pischon und Ascan Egerer.

Die Geschäftsführung Dr. Alexander Pischon (links) und Ascan Egerer (rechts)

Die Geschäftsführung
Dr. Alexander Pischon (links) und Ascan Egerer (rechts)

  1. Anschrift

    Tullastraße 71
    76131 Karlsruhe
    Tel +49 721 6107-0
    www.avg.info

  2. Geschäftsführung

    Dr. Alexander Pischon
    Ascan Egerer

  3. Gründungsjahr

    1957

  4. Mitarbeiter

    850

  5. Geschäftstätigkeit

    Öffentlicher Personen-Nahverkehr