Albrecht Martin Bähr & Sylvia Fink: Non-profit welfare as an economic factor in Rhineland-Palatinate

Associations of charitable organisations are traditionally seen as major players in Germany’s social economy and rate among the largest job
providers in the country. The social economy is characterised by being strongly embedded in the structures of the local economy. Employment and the boost of income and investment provided by the social enterprises remain almost fully in the respective region. Therefore, the social sector itself is an important economic sector which provides work, forges ­innovations and contributes to welfare in the local region.

Vorstand der LIGA der Freien Wohlfahrtspflege (ohne Vertreter der AWO), vlnr: Hans-Jürgen Eberhardt (Caritas), Regine Schuster (Der PARITÄTische), Albrecht Bähr (Diakonie), Anke Marzi (DRK).

The social economy is primarily regarded as a major cost factor in general observations and public discourse. The debate about the necessity to “economise the social” and its practical implications has been held for over ten years and suggests that “the social” and “the economy” be considered as two parts of a whole rather than two separate spheres, as they have been up until now. By no means the terms efficiency and effectiveness have only just begun to be of importance for activities involved in social work. The same applies to the topic of “money”. The accusation is often raised that public funds are wasted in the field of social work – in contrast to the field of economy, where money is “earned”.

How much commercial economic thinking can social education tolerate without being robbed of its quality and solicitousness? A range of authorities refer to the commodi­fication of social work in this context, meaning that social work is becoming a commodity, which for cost reasons ends up being subjected to an arbitrary subcategorisation process, and whose quality can be flexibly adjusted and checked against efficiency criteria for the same reasons. In this context however, it ought to be borne in mind that the definition of efficiency (which makes an assumption as to which outlays achieve a given effect) nonetheless presupposes the capacity to ascertain effectiveness. For example in youth work, this aspect is generally hard to establish. Whether the offered services are effective requires continual and long-term defining of the quality of the results, which in social service can only be carried out to a limited extent.

 

Services for four million citizens. Health and social work is a branch of the economy which is predominantly formed by the merits and benefits to society by way of the provision of education, care, advice and training. The tasks and services in this economic sector are undertaken by non-profit organisations and churches as well as by regional/local and supraregional public institutions and by private commercial organisations and operators. Due to its extensive range of services, the health and social economy represents a signifi­cant component of the employment landscape. In the facilities of all the organisations involved, and looking merely at welfare in the areas of child, youth and family assistance, and disabled care and assistance, jobs are held by over 145,000 people. Some 14 per cent of those employed in Rhineland- Palatinate work in this sector. Hence, the health and social economy, alongside the processing industry (25 per cent) and trade sector (14 per cent), is one of the most significant sectors in this federal state when measured in terms of volume of employment.

The large volume of employment has a positive impact on the regional economy. This means over 70 per cent of the service charges and public funds, either directly or indirectly, flow back to the nation, the state and municipalities in form of taxes and social insurance contributions or payments by the organisations. From among the expenses attached to the assets, service provisions and investments, which the charity and welfare organisations deal with, more than 75 per cent remain in the region (within 50 km), thereby leading to further employment in other sectors. If one collates the direct, indirect and induced return flows of public funding, it turns out over half of public funding costs come back either directly or indirectly. For costs associated with publice funding, this means that of one euro invested in the Rhineland-Palatinate social economy, on average 40 cents return to the public domain by way of taxes and social insurance contributions. All cooperating sectors in the social economy which were studied in 2014 in Rhineland-Palatinate have over 1.2 billion euros in net income at their command. Deducting an assumed savings ratio of 11 per cent and only taking into account those employed from the region there remains a sum of 970 million euros through which consumption is transacted. Employees of the LIGA associations, on account of their consumption in the region alone, boost employment levels in other sectors by 12,430 positions, 10,000 being fulltime.

Volunteer activities as an economic factor. The associations of charitable organisations, which are also organised in the Federal Association of Non-statutory Welfare (BAGFW), rank among the biggest employment providers in the Federal Republic of Germany. At the same time, over a million people voluntarily take part in them, thus contributing to the country’s social stability. The fields of activity are diverse and range from infant and aged care to preventative care and treatment through to education support and counselling. Through volunteer activities, additional services are generated primarily in care and advisory work, complementing the fundamental working activities in the respective areas of the social economy. According to BAGFW estimates, there are between 2.5 and 3 million people nationwide (that’s roughly a tenth of all active volunteers) actively involved in charitable organisations. The proportion of those employed in charitable organisations among total employees and from the economy sector health and social work has remained constant over the last years. In 2012, the registered number of volunteers in the charit­able organisation associations in Rhineland-Palatinate amounted to 30,544 people. In addition, the full-time employees in the LIGA associations are supported in their work by a further 3,549 part-time employees.

More than the sum of its parts. A closer look reveals that social economic facilities provide much more to various groups of people in society as well as to the infrastructure and to other institutions. This added value cannot be readily evaluated monetarily; nonetheless, it contributes to the importance of social economy. An additional value that is monetarily immeasurable comes from providing young people with the possibility to complete professional training in the institutes and technical colleges or to go through accredited traineeships. Charity associations therefore play an important role in the professional training system.

If one summarises all these findings, the social economy’s importance as a regional economic factor becomes apparent. Here, attention should be brought to the fact that we are dealing with sectors which are hardly transferable or not at all, for instance they cannot be relocated abroad. The findings about the regional radiative effects emerging from the social economy’s facilities and services lead us to conclude that one should not only evaluate this sector in socio-political terms, but that the social economy should also be taken into account as part of business development.

The fact is that facilities of the social economy make a significant contribution to the enhancement of the quality of life for those receiving care and their families, as well those employed in these facilities.
Albrecht Martin Bähr
Albrecht Martin Bähr studied Protestant theology and occupied the position of rectorate in Limbach-Altstadt from 1991 to 2002. From 2002 to 2010, he was the representative of the Diakonische Werk with the state government of Rhineland-Palatinate. Since 2011, Albrecht Martin Bähr has been chief pastor of Rhineland-Palatinate, speaker for the working community of the deaconry in Rhineland-Palatinate as well as chairperson of LIGA der Freien Wohlfahrtspflege in Rheinland-Pfalz e.V. from 2015 until 2016.
Sylvia Fink
Sylvia Fink completed her education studies after following vocational training as a bank officer. She was employed as debt advisor and deputy staff member at the University of Mainz (Specialist Centre in Debt Counselling), consultant to the Board of Management (Deaconry, 2001-2007), consultant in debt counselling and general welfare work (Deaconry, 2007-2010). Since November 2010, Sylvia Fink has been Managing Director of the LIGA der Freien Wohlfahrtspflege in Rheinland-Pfalz e.V.

Albrecht Martin Bähr & Sylvia Fink: Die Freie Wohlfahrtspflege als Wirtschaftsfaktor in Rheinland-Pfalz

Die Verbände der freien Wohlfahrtspflege gehören traditionell zu den wesentlichen Akteuren der Sozialwirtschaft in Deutschland und zählen hierzulande zu den ­größten Arbeitgebern. Die Sozialwirtschaft zeichnet sich durch eine überaus  ­starke Einbettung in die Wirtschaftsstrukturen vor Ort aus. Dabei verbleiben Beschäftigung und die  von den sozialen Unternehmen ausgehenden  Einkommens- und Investitionsimpulse fast vollständig in der jeweiligen Region. Somit ist der Sozialsektor selbst ein wichtiger Wirtschaftszweig, der Arbeit bietet, Innovationen schafft und zum Wohlstand der Region beiträgt.

Vorstand der LIGA der Freien Wohlfahrtspflege (ohne Vertreter der AWO), vlnr: Hans-Jürgen Eberhardt (Caritas), Regine Schuster (Der PARITÄTische), Albrecht Bähr (Diakonie), Anke Marzi (DRK).

Die Sozialwirtschaft wird in der allgemeinen Betrachtung und in öffentlichen Diskussionen in erster Linie als großer Kosten­faktor angesehen. Die seit über zehn Jahren geführte Debatte um die Notwendigkeit einer „Öko­nomi­­sierung des Sozialen“ sowie ihre praktischen Auswirkun­­gen legt den Gedanken nahe, „Soziales“ und „Wirtschaft“ als bis dato strikt voneinander getrennte Sphären nun gemeinsam zu be­­trachten. Dabei ist es keineswegs so, dass die Begriffe Effizienz und Effekti­­vität innerhalb der Aktivitäten So­­zialer Ar­­beit vorher keine Rolle gespielt hätten. Gleiches gilt für das Thema „Geld“. Oft wird der Vorwurf erhoben, dass im So­­zialbereich – anders als in der Wirtschaft, wo“ Geld verdient“ wird – öffentliche Mittel „verschwendet“ würden.

Wie viel betriebswirtschaftliches Denken kann die Sozial­­­pädagogik vertragen, ohne sich ihrer Qualität und Für­sorg­­lichkeit zu berauben? Verschiedene Quellen sprechen in diesem Zusammenhang von einer Kommodifizierung sozialer Hilfen, d. h. die Leistungen sozialer Arbeit werden zur Ware, die aus Kostengründen beliebig gestückelt und deren Qualität aus denselben Gründen flexibel angepasst und unter Effizienz­­gesichtspunkten überprüft werden kann. Es ist in diesem Zu­­sammenhang aber zu bedenken, dass die Be­­stimmung von Effizienz (die angibt, mit welchem Aufwand ein Effekt erzielt wird) allerdings die Möglichkeit der Ermittlung von Effektivität voraussetzt. Dieser Aspekt ist z.B. in der Jugend­­hilfe in der Regel schwer feststellbar. Ob die angebotenen Leistungen effektiv sind, erfordert eine kontinuierliche und langfristige Bestimmung der Ergebnisqualität, die bei sozialen Dienst­­leistungen nur bedingt zu leisten ist.

Leistungen für vier Millionen Bürger. Das Gesundheits- und Sozialwesen zeichnet sich als Wirt­schafts­­­­zweig aus, in dem die Leistung und der Nutzen für die Gesell­schaft durch Er­­ziehungs-, Betreuungs-, Beratungs-, und Bildungs­angebote im Vordergrund stehen. Die Aufgaben und Dienst­­leistungen in diesem Wirtschaftszweig werden von freigemeinnützigen Trägern, Kirchen und darüber hinaus auch von örtlichen und überörtlichen öffentlichen Trägern sowie privatgewerblichen Trägern und Betrieben übernommen. Aufgrund ihres um­­fang­­­reichen Leistungsangebots stellt die Gesundheits- und Sozialwirtschaft auch einen wesentlichen Bestandteil in der Beschäftigungslandschaft dar. In den Einrichtungen aller Träger der Freien Wohlfahrtspflege finden alleine in den B­e­reichen Kinder-, Jugend- und Familienhilfe, Behinderten­hilfe und Pflege über 145.000 Be­­schäftigte einen Arbeitsplatz. Damit arbeiten etwa 14 Pro­zent aller Beschäftigten in Rhein­­land-Pfalz in diesem Sektor. So ist die Gesundheits- und So­­zialwirtschaft neben dem ver­­arbeitenden Gewerbe (25 Pro­zent aller Be­­schäftigten in Rhein­­land-Pfalz) und dem Handels­sektor (14 Pro­zent aller Be­­schäftigten in Rheinland-Pfalz) ge­­­messen an ihrer Beschäftigungsgröße einer der bedeutends­ten Sektoren des Bundeslandes.

Das hohe Maß an Beschäftigungsver­hältnissen wirkt sich wiederum positiv auf die regionale Wirt­­schaft aus. So fließen über 70 Prozent der Leistungsentgelte und Fördermittel der öffentlichen Hand durch direkte und indirekte Zahlung von Steuern und Sozialversicherungsbeiträgen der Einrichtungen wieder an Bund, Land und Kommunen zurück. Von den Ausgaben für Sachgüter, Dienstleistungen und Investitionen, die die Träger der Freien Wohlfahrtspflege tätigen, ver­­bleiben mehr als 75 Prozent in der Region (50 km Umkreis) und führen da­­durch zu weiteren Beschäftigungsverhältnissen in anderen Bran­chen. Trägt man die direkten, indirekten und induzierten Rück­­flüsse an die öffentliche Hand zusammen, so zeigt sich, dass über die Hälfte der Ausgaben der öffentlichen Hand direkt oder indirekt wieder zurückfließen. Für die Ausgaben der öffentlichen Hand bedeutet das, dass von einem Euro, der in die So­­zialwirtschaft in Rheinland-Pfalz investiert wird, über Steuern und Sozial­­versicherungsbeiträge durchschnittlich 40 Cent un­­mittelbar an die öffentliche Hand zurückfließen. Alle Mit­ar­bei­tenden in den in einer Studie im Jahr 2014 untersuchten  Se­­ktoren der Sozial­wirt­­s­chaft in Rheinland-Pfalz verfügen über ein Netto-Ein­kommen von ins­­gesamt ca. 1,2 Milliarden Euro. Abzüglich einer angenommenen Sparquote von 11 Prozent und unter Ein­be­ziehung ausschließlich von Mitarbeitenden aus der Region ver­­bleiben ca. 970 Mil­lionen Euro, mit denen Konsum getätigt wird. Die Mitarbei­tenden der LIGA-Verbände stärken alleine aufgrund des Konsums in ihrer Region 12.430 Beschäftigungs­­ver­­hält­nisse bzw. knapp 10.000 (Vollzeitstellen) in anderen Branchen.

Ehrenamtliche Tätigkeit als wirtschaftlicher Faktor. Die Verbände der Freien Wohlfahrtspflege, die auch in der „Bundes­­­ar­beits­­­­ge­­mein­­­schaft der Freien Wohlfahrtspflege“ organisiert sind, zählen in der BRD längst zu den größten Arbeitgebern. Zugleich engagieren sich in ihnen über eine Million Menschen ehrenamtlich und tragen so zur sozialen Stabilität des Landes bei. Die Tätigkeits­felder sind vielfältig und reichen von der Säug­­lings- und Alten­pflege über Prä­­vention und Versorgung bis hin zur Bildungs­­för­derung und Seel­sorge. Durch die ehrenamtlich Tätigen werden in erster Linie zu­­sätzliche Leistungen in der Betreuung und Beratung erbracht, die die grundlegen­­den Arbeitstätigkeiten in den jeweiligen Sozial­wirtschafts­­be­reichen ergänzen. Nach Schät­zungen der BAGFW engagieren sich deutschlandweit zwischen 2,5 und 3 Millionen Menschen – das ist etwa ein Zehntel aller ehrenamtlich Täti­gen –  in den Arbeitsbereichen der Freien Wohlfahrtspflege. Die Anteile der Beschäftigten der Freien Wohl­­fahrts­­pflege an der Gesamtbeschäftigung und auch am GuS-­­Wirtschafts­be­reich sind über die letzten Jahre konstant ge­­blieben. 2012 be­­trug die gemeldete Zahl der Ehrenamtlichen bei den Ver­­­­bänden der Freien Wohl­­fahrtspflege in Rheinland-Pfalz 30.544 Personen. Zu­­dem werden die hauptberuflich Beschäftigten der LIGA-Ver­­bände in ihrer Ar­­beit durch weitere 3.549 geringfügig Be­­­­schäftigte unterstützt.

Mehr als die Summe seiner Teile. Sozialwirtschaftliche Ein­rich­­­­tungen leisten auf den zweiten Blick viel mehr für verschiedene Personengruppen der Gesellschaft sowie für die Infra­struktur und andere Institutionen. Diese Mehrwerte können nicht ohne weiteres monetär bewertet werden, tragen aber zu­­sätzlich zur Bedeutung der Sozialwirtschaft bei. Ein zusätzlicher nicht messbarer monetärer Wert liegt auch darin, jungen Men­schen die Möglichkeit zu eröffnen, in den Einrichtungen und Fach­­schulen Berufsausbildungen zu absolvieren oder Anerken­nungspraktika zu machen. Die Wohlfahrtsverbände spielen somit auch eine wichtige Rolle im beruflichen Ausbildungssystem.

Fasst man diese Befunde zusammen, dann zeigt sich in aller Deutlichkeit die erhebliche Bedeutung der Sozialwirtschaft als regionaler Wirtschaftsfaktor. An dieser Stelle sei nur an­­gemerkt, dass es sich zugleich um Bereiche handelt, die kaum oder so gut wie gar nicht verlagerungsfähig sind, beispiels­­weise ins Ausland.
Die Befunde über die regionalen Ausstrahlungseffekte aus den Einrichtungen und den Diensten der Sozialwirtschaft legen auch die Schlussfolgerung nahe, dass man diesen Bereich nicht nur sozialpolitisch betrachten und bewerten darf, sondern dass die Sozialwirtschaft auch in der Wirtschaftsförderung Berück­sichtigung finden sollte.

Fakt ist, dass die Einrichtungen der Sozialwirtschaft einen wesent­­­­­lichen Beitrag zur Steigerung der Lebensqualität für die betreuten Menschen und ihre Angehörigen sowie die eigenen Be­­schäftigten leisten.
Albrecht Martin Bähr
Albrecht Martin Bähr studierte evangelische Theologie und war von 1991 bis 2002 Inhaber der Pfarrstelle Limbach-Altstadt. Von 2002 bis 2010 war er Beauftragter der  Diakonischen Werke  am Sitz der Landesregierung in Rheinland-Pfalz. Seit 2011 ist Albrecht Martin Bähr Landespfarrer des Diakonischen Werkes, Sprecher der Arbeitsgemeinschaft der  Diakonie in Rheinland- Pfalz sowie 2015 und 2016 Vorsitzender des LIGA der Freien Wohlfahrtspflege in Rheinland-Pfalz e.V.
Sylvia Fink
Sylvia Fink absolvierte nach ihrer Ausbildung zur Bankkauffrau ein Diplom­­studium der Erziehungs­­wissen­schaften. Sie war tätig als Schuldnerberaterin sowie wiss. Mitarbeiterin an der Uni­versität Mainz (Schuld­­ner­­fachberatungszentrum), Vorstandsreferentin (Diakonie, 2001-2007), Referentin für Schuldnerberatung und für Gemeinwesenarbeit (Diakonie, 2007-2010). Seit November 2010 ist Sylvia Fink Geschäftsführerin des LIGA der Freien Wohlfahrtspflege in Rheinland-Pfalz e.V.